Looking for a Specific Journal?
Looking for a specific journal? Search by journal title to check availability across our subscriptions.
Place an Interlibrary Loan request if you need access beyond what is immediately available.
Key Journals
- International Migration ReviewA peer-reviewed publication of the Center for Migration Studies (ISSN: 0197-9183).
- Journal of Ethnic and Migration StudiesPeer-reviewed (ISSN: 1369-183X). Library access has a rolling 18-month embargo for current issues.
- Migration StudiesPeer-reviewed publication (ISSN: 2049-5838).
- Journal on Migration and Human Security (JMHS)A peer-reviewed, open access publication of the Center for Migration Studies (ISSN: 2331-5024).
- International MigrationA peer-reviewed publication of the UN International Organization for Migration (ISSN: 0020-7985).
Core Databases
The library subscribes to over 400 databases that allow you to search the scholarly literature across journals. Databases are professionally indexed and offer options for complex search queries. Use this list to get to the most relevant social science databases available through the Graduate Center.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Coverage spans 1952 to the present.
- Social Science Premium CollectionThis collection includes databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing, and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. Click "more" to see the full list of databases included in this collection.
- SocINDEX with Full TextComprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of study. The database features 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains abstracts for more than 4,650 journals, some dating to 1895 and extensive indexing for books/monographs and conference papers. Contains full text for more than 830 books and monographs, 16,800 conference papers, and 860 journals dating back to 1908. Searchable cited references and thousands of author profiles are also included.
- Social Sciences Full TextProvides access to English-language social science journals, including full text from 215 titles beginning in 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 titles beginning in 1983, 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and more.
- Sociology DatabaseFull text of hundreds of scholarly journals in sociology and social work, social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology, and population studies. Also includes dissertations and other sources. Coverage spans 1985 to the present.
- Social Science DatabaseSocial Science Database indexes over 1,000 social science journals, with full text for 900 titles, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- International Bibliography of the Social SciencesIBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology from 1951 to the present. Part of the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)Indexes over 500 journals covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education from 1987 to the present. This database is part of the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.
- PAIS Index - International and ArchiveBibliographic citations from international sources including journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, covering public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from 1915 to the present.
- Annual Reviews
Full text of 51 Annual Review journals in the social sciences, biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences and economics. The literature reviews synthesize current understanding of a topic, set the work in historical context, and include extensive bibliographies. Search across or browse reviews and journals in more than 45 scientific disciplines, including anthropology, astrophysics, biochemistry, criminology, earth and planetary sciences, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, and sociology.
- SAGE Sociology CollectionFull text of 37 SAGE sociology journals from 1952 to the present.
- Social TheoryMore than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith, and Talcott Parsons. Search across the resource or browse authors, titles, theories, or subjects.
- Citation IndexesThe Graduate Center subscribes to the Web of Science, providing cited references from thousands of scholarly journals and conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences through Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities and Book Citation Index. Academic Search Complete, PsycInfo, and some other EBSCO databases also provide cited references.
- ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political & Social Research
ICPSR, the world's largest collection of digital social science data, maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR data cover sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, international relations, and more. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account using your Graduate Center email account to access the full range of resources and services.
Search Google Scholar
Look for the "Find Fulltext at GC" link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the library's resources.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanArticles requested through interlibrary loan (ILL) are typically delivered electronically as PDF files within 48 hours. Use your Graduate Center network ID user name and password to log in. If you have questions or need help placing your request, email ill@gc.cuny.edu.
Scan and deliver
We can also scan print materials that we have in the GC library and send you a digital copy. Request up to one chapter from a print book or one article from a print journal by logging in above and filling out a regular ILL request form.
SocArXiv: Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv (pronounced sosh-archive) is a preprint server created by sociologists, librarians, and open science advocates.
Visit SocArxiv.org to deposit papers, and SocOpen.org for the latest news.