LexisNexis Academic
- Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis)
This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text news, business, and legal database with access to over 10,000 sources. Offers 1,639 news sources from around the world, including most of the world's major English-language newspapers; many foreign-language newspapers; scholarly journals; trade journals; popular magazines; web-based publications; law decisions and law review journal articles; and company information.
LexisNexis Academic: Search Tips
- Using LexisNexis Academic to Search International News [pdf] Follow along with screenshots to locate menu options for searching news by geographic region.
- Use the ! symbol as a wildcard operator in your search strings. For example, type migra! to retrieve results with the keywords migration, migrant, migrants.
- Use w/n to define proximity of words in search results, where "n" equals the number of words. For example, muslim w/2 refugee will retrieve sources where the words muslim and refugee are within two words of each other.
Getting Started with LexisNexis
LexisNexis Academic is a database with powerful search options, but may be difficult to navigate at first. Take a few minutes to watch the tutorials below to get an idea of its abilities.
View more video tutorials on the LexisNexis Academic YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/LexisNexisAcademic
Searching foreign language news:
Essential Newspapers
- New York Times Archive, 1851-2018 Actual page images from 1851 through 2018. Following years are added annually. When the results of a search are displayed, you have three retrieval options: 1. bibliographic citation and abstract; 2. article image (retrieved with Adobe Acrobat Reader); 3. page map, displaying the entire page on which the article appears. For current access, see New York Times Academic Pass.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- New York Times Academic Pass All of CUNY has access to the NYTimes Academic Pass. Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and smartphone apps. Please click through for instructions.
- This link opens in a new window
- National Newspapers Premier (via NYPL)Searchable full text from the 1980's to the present of over 25 local, regional and national newspapers including the the New York Daily News, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor. Available on-site only at NYPL research branches.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History) This resource contains full-text of over 500 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959 and provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Publications are in a wide variety of languages including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Creole, Inuktitut, Russian, Hindi, Japanese, Arabic, and others.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Newsstand
- Gale OneFile: News
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1,800 American and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. International coverage strengths are Canada, Latin America, India.
International Newspapers - 1980-present
- People's Daily OnlineThe People's Daily is the official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China. Provides full-text coverage of daily issues between 1946 to 2005.
- NYPL newspaper databasesThe NYPL subscribes to many international news databases. Many can only be accessed online at a research library location.