MGG Online is a comprehensive German music encyclopedia with integrated translation via Google Translate. It features the complete second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) along with regularly updated and newly written articles.
MGG Online consists of more than 19,000 articles. Biographical articles cover over 16,000 composers, singers, instrumentalists, theorists, performers, figures in jazz and popular music, and more from both Western and non-Western traditions. More than 1500 subject articles cover music aesthetics and theory, epochs and genres, church music and pop music, instruments and manuscripts, cities and countries. Comprehensive articles on institutions and on music as it relates to history, art, literature, philosophy, law, the natural sciences, and more are included. The platform features MGG’s widely reputed and thorough works lists, now sortable by the user; toggling between article versions; individual user accounts in which bookmarks and annotations can be created, saved, and shared; and links to RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
RILM abstracts of music literature with full text (RAFT) expands and enhances RILM abstracts with the addition of approximately one million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals from 50 countries in 40 languages. Coverage begins in the early 20th century and includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news. The current list of journal titles in full text can be found on the RILM website.
RILM music encyclopedias is a full-text compilation of 41 titles published from 1775 to the present, the majority of which are not available anywhere else online. It provides comprehensive encyclopedic coverage of many disciplines, fields, and subject areas, among them popular music, opera, instruments, blues, gospel, recorded sound, and women composers. Its content spans multiple countries and languages—English, German, French, Italian, Dutch, and Greek.
RIPM Full Text is an international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1760 and 1966 -- from Beethoven to Bartók and from Schubert to Stravinsky. Currently indexes the contents of 290 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. It also includes more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages. A list of journal titles can be found on the RIPM website.
The database, also known as Repertoire International des Sources Musicales, documents the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti held in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools, and private collections. It includes more than 620,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives in 32 countries around the globe.
The Music Periodicals Database is a music journal resource with more than1.3 million articles from 1874 to the present. It provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 international music periodicals and full text from 350 journals. MPD covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine all subjects and aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
This resource indexes music from ancient Greek times to the present. It can be useful for finding individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions, with hundreds of thousands of records of individual music works.
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. The online version includes all 1.25 million words, 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition with sophisticated search and browse functionality designed to maximize the dynamic possibilities of online reading and research. Taruskin’s text is accompanied by editorially selected links to relevant articles in Oxford Art Online.
Search the Grove Dictionary of Music via the Oxford Music Online platform. Based on a work first published in 1879, Grove has been in continuous publication and has been the foremost English-language encyclopedia of music. Includes over 52,000 articles charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. Hundreds of new articles and article revisions are added each year. Create an optional subscriber account to save searches.
Text of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.
Music ID is a global music industry data research tool comprised of three platforms: Music ID Data, Music ID Revenue, and Music ID Impact. Music ID Data includes 5,452 charts from 74 countries, data on streaming from multiple platforms, and contemporary and historical data from Billboard, the Official Charts Company, GfK, and others. Music ID Revenue tracks the worldwide top earning recordings of the 21st century, showing the most successful artists, singles, and albums of the last twenty years. And Music ID Impact provides research data on the top artists, songs, and albums for every year and decade back to 1900. Includes visualization tools. Updated weekly.
Online access to more than 2.6 million tracks from over 165 thousand CDs in classical music, jazz, folk, and world music. Search or browse contents by composer, artist, genre, or label, or categories such as chamber music, composers, film music, opera, etc. Also includes the Naxos Dictionary of Music, a reference tool featuring musical terms, composers and instruments; aural training exercises; work analyses that focus on core classical compositions; and Naxos Musicology International, which contains music scholarship on a range of repertoires, genres, creative and scholarly approaches. Create an account with your GC email address to create playlists, lists of favorites, and more.
Collection of 600+ Oxford University Press handbooks in a wide range of subjects. Select “Unlocked” to see available titles, which may also be found in OneSearch. Other than Music, our collections do not include titles published after 2014. Those handbooks are available through the New York Public Library remotely.
A new unified platform for Oxford University Press’s journals and many of its academic book collections that allows cross searching and browsing of content. The Graduate Center’s subscription allows access to abstracts of books in many disciplines, but full ebooks are available only for titles in history, linguistics, music, philosophy, political science, and psychology. Browse or search across all content or just within Journals, Books, or Subjects. Limit results to subscribed materials by filtering for Purchased Content, Open Access, and/or Free items. Available titles may be found in OneSearch. For other disciplines, check availability via the New York Public Library remotely.
First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories span subject areas across the humanities and social sciences. The GC’s subscription includes over 400 titles in American History; Ancient & Classical Studies; Asian History, British & European History; Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought; and Religion.
**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch.