Looking for a Specific Journal?
-
Electronic and Print Journals at the Graduate CenterSearch the GC library's holdings of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-
Electronic Journals at New York Public LibraryFind electronic journals available both at NYPL and from home.
-
Print Journals at New York Public LibrarySearch NYPL's research catalog for journals, magazines, and newspapers not available electronically.
-
Library Doesn't Have the Journal You Need? Use Interlibrary Loan!Whenever you need an article from a journal that the GC library doesn't have, you can request the article via interlibrary loan.
Best Bets for Philosophy Research
-
Philosopher's IndexBibliographic citations from philosophy journals and books in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish from 1940 to the present. Over 680 journals from fifty countries are indexed, covering all major fields of philosophy. Approximately eighty percent of citations are from journal articles, the rest from books. More than 10,000 new records are added annually.
-
Annee philologique
Bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index beginning with Volume 1 published in 1928. Covers Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.
-
JSTORA digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.
-
Loeb Classical LibraryHarvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, growing, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts.
-
PhilPapersPhilPapers is an extensive index of philosophy literature, maintained by the community of philosophers. It indexes philosophy research found in journals, books, and open access archives, and currently contains 2,600,000+ entries in 5,800+ categories. It also hosts PhilArchive, the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Other Databases for Philosophy Research
-
Arts & Humanities DatabaseFull text of 600 publications related to visual and applied arts. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Subject strengths include art, design, crafts, and photography; archaeology, anthropology and classical studies; architecture, interior design, and urban planning; history, philosophy, geography and religion; modern languages and literatures; and music, theatre, film and cultural studies.
-
Eighteenth Century Collection OnlineECCO contains digitized versions of the 180,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed between 1701 and 1800 that are cataloged in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The majority of the works are in English with several thousand in French or Latin, and smaller numbers in Ancient Greek, German, Italian, Scots Gaelic, Spanish and Welsh, and other languages. Use the Advanced Search option to limit results by language and/or collection categories such as fine arts, history and geography, law, literature and language, medicine, science, and technology, religion and philosophy, social sciences, general reference, or a combination of subjects. Illustrated works may be searched by cartoon, map, music, portrait, etc.
-
Humanities SourceOver 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Includes millions of records covering archaeology, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, classical studies, area studies and gender studies. Should be included in any humanities search.
-
Left IndexGuide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics covered include art and aesthetics, ecology and environment, education, history, the labor movement, law and globalization, philosophy, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, and sociology. Includes more than 507,000 citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present.
-
Oxford Academic via NYPLPlease log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Oxford Academic provides access to scholarly and academic books and journals from Oxford University Press and its partners. The publications cover a wide range of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. Access to the AMA Manual of Style is also included.
Content from Oxford Handbooks, University Press Scholarship Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, and Very Short Introductions can now be found through Oxford Academic.
Research Metrics
It’s common to hear questions about the importance of an article, the quality of a journal, the prominence of a researcher, etc. Answering these questions requires a nuanced understanding of the topic/field in question, but there are attempts to answer them numerically, with "research metrics."
It's is important to understand how these metrics are calculated, what exactly they do and do not say, and when and how to look beyond them. Learn about:
Icon credit: metrics by Danang endar from Noun Project (CC BY 3.0)
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature, including journal articles and books. The Graduate Center Library has created a customized version that knows the library’s electronic journal holdings and links you directly to the articles in the library’s databases.
Go to GC-customized Google Scholar
Note: If you’re off campus, you’ll be prompted to log in with your GC credentials before you can access library subscriptions.