CUNY OneSearch
- OneSearchOneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
Books Beyond the GC
If the Graduate Center does not have the book you need, you can have the book sent here from another library.
- CUNY/SUNY CLICSYou can have books from CUNY and SUNY libraries delivered to you at the GC. Find a book in OneSearch (using either GC + CUNY Libraries or GC + CUNY Libraries + SUNY Libraries as the search scope), sign in, and initiate a request. CLICS is for circulating books only, not reference books, electronic books, periodicals, etc. If the desired book is not found or a no request option appears (even when you are signed in), submit an interlibrary loan request.
- WorldCat DiscoveryWorldCat Discovery is a catalog and discovery system containing millions of records for print and electronic holdings in thousands of libraries around the world.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the book you need is not available at the GC library, you can request it via interlibrary loan. Search for the item in WorldCat to simplify the request process.
- Outside CUNY: NYPL, MaRLI, METRO, & SHARESGraduate Center users receive special NYPL privileges and may be eligible through MaRLI for borrowing privileges at NYU and Columbia. METRO and SHARES provide other possibilities for access to books.
Ebooks
The library provides access to many thousands of ebooks, accessible through a variety of databases. Most can be found using OneSearch. Consult our Ebook Collections guide for more information.
Quick Tips about GC Ebooks
- Find most CUNY and Graduate Center eBooks in OneSearch, with links to the full text.
- See also our tips for locating e-books blog post.
- Some ebooks are licensed for CUNY-wide use; others are licensed only to invididual CUNY campuses
- Graduate Center affiliates do not have remote access to ebooks held by other CUNY campuses.
- If you have a dual affiliation, you can access each campus's electronic collections using the OneSearch interface and credentials for that school.
- Printing and downloading options will vary according to platform or publisher, and is often prohibited or extremely limited.
- If there’s an e-book you can’t find, try Interlibrary Loan (ILL):
- Requests for chapters of books are often sent as electronic files through Interlibrary Loan, whereas whole ebooks are often not available via ILL due to licensing and digital restrictions of library ebooks. Try a request for a chapter or section!
Reference E-Books
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of PhilosophyFull text of the ten-volume 1998 reference work.
- Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliographies in American Literature, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, Urban Studies, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
- Oxford ReferenceText of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.
