Archived Edition
This Archival Research Guide has been replaced by a new edition and will no longer be updated. Please refer to our new Archival Research Guide for assistance.
About This Guide
This guide will introduce you to the basics of archival research. You will find information on:
-
What archives are and how they are arranged
-
Conducting background research
-
Where and how to look for archival collections
-
What to expect when you visit an archival repository
-
Citing and quoting from unpublished materials
-
And more
Recommended Reading
Following are selected sources for further reading. Some are cited in this research guide and all are recommended for developing research skills.
Building Archival Research Skills
Archival Arrangement & Terminology
LCSH & Copyright
Getting Help
There are many ways to get help from a librarian — choose the method that best suits your needs:
- In Person: Visit the reference desk (2nd floor of library) during reference hours.
- By Chat: Chat with an academic librarian 24/7. If available, a CUNY librarian will answer your chat.
- By Email: Complete the question submission form and receive a reply by email during reference hours.
- By Phone: Call the reference desk at (212) 817-7077 during reference hours.
- By Appointment: Schedule a one-on-one research consultation by contacting your subject librarian.
Dispatches from the Field
Following are links to a few noteworthy library blogs and websites that provide an introduction to particular collections and a glimpse into what's going on in the world of archives.
Highlights: NYPL, New-York Historical Society, and Library of Congress
Archives in the News
- Archives in The NewsSee these and other fascinating articles about manuscripts, archives, and collections in our Zotero Library.