An online resource with activities for archivists, students, and researchers to identify and dismantle oppressive power structures in archives. Includes a bibliography with recommended readings against white supremacy, colonialism, patriarchy, heteronormativity, ableism, capitalism, and more.

A series of forums focusing on community archives integration in a National Digital Platform and the potential impact for representation of diverse communities in our digital cultural heritage. Read an overview of the initiative and watch the four panel discussions.

The Society of American Archivists' statement on diversity and inclusion along with a roundup of links and resources detailing the organization's efforts towards DEI.

Guidelines for contextualizing collection descriptions to decenter whiteness and to center the voices of the silenced, marginalized, and unheard. The guide covers topics such as addressing racist language, rectifying misrepresentations of people of color, updating ableist language, centering the experiences of Indigenous peoples and differentiating the identity of a woman from that of her husband. Compiled and edited by the UNC Libraries’ Conscious Editing Steering Committee (CESC). No modification of the collection materials is part of this work, only updates to the catalog records and finding aids that describe the materials for researchers to discover and access.

Resources compiled by the Sunshine State Digital Network Metadata Working Group related to conscious editing and anti-oppressive metadata practices. They have included resources related to bias in library and archival description, inclusive metadata, re-description projects, and best practices and resources for describing materials by and about marginalized peoples. This is not a comprehensive list, but rather a starting place for metadata creators and catalogers to discover resources on this topic.

The Reparative Archival Description Working Group (RAD) is charged by the Archives Advisory Group (AAG) with creating recommendations regarding principles and practices for reparative archival description work. Reparative archival description aims to remediate or contextualize potentially outdated or harmful language used in archival description and to create archival description that is accurate, inclusive, and community-centered. ... RAD’s long term goals include developing guidelines for repositories about finding, remediating, and documenting instances of outdated or harmful language in archival description; improving access to Yale’s archival collections, by removing or contextualizing outdated or harmful language in archival description and access points; making archival description more transparent to researchers by documenting changes to description; developing public-facing documentation that details the scope and aim of the task force’s work; and exploring avenues for researchers to report archival description that contains outdated or harmful language.

In 2017, the OCLC Research Library Partnership (RLP) conducted a survey to explore if and how their 150 Partner institutions are modifying library and archival collections, practices, and services through the lens of equality, diversity, and inclusion (EDI). Their objective was to capture a snapshot of efforts to inform next steps, reveal possible directions to explore, and serve as a starting point for further discussions and action regarding EDI in the library field. See a list of resources mentioned in the survey.