About this Guide
This guide is here to help you with your archival research. It contains information on archives and archival repositories, collection finding aids, conducting background research, and finding both analog and digitized collections. It includes links to resources, research tips, and tools for working with the sources you find. Please send any comments or suggestions to library@gc.cuny.edu.
CUNY Graduate Center Archives and Special Collections
The CUNY Graduate Center Archives and Special Collections, which is part of the Mina Rees Library, seeks to collect, organize, preserve, and make accessible materials documenting the history of the Graduate Center and its constituents, along with unique collections that support the research and educational mission of the University.
Please see the comprehensive guide to the CUNY Graduate Center Archives and Special Collections to learn about the scope and contents of the collections, to browse and search finding aids, and to find practical information for visiting and using the archives.
Getting Help
There are many ways to get help from a librarian — choose the method that best suits your needs:
- In Person: Visit the reference desk (2nd floor of library) during reference hours.
- By Chat: Chat with an academic librarian 24/7. If available, a CUNY librarian will answer your chat.
- By Email: Complete the question submission form and receive a reply by email during reference hours.
- By Phone: Call the reference desk at (212) 817-7077 during reference hours.
- By Appointment: Schedule a one-on-one research consultation by contacting your subject librarian.
Highlights from Various Libraries
