Research Guides: Art History: NYC Art Libraries

Art Museum Libraries

New York City is home to the some of the best art libraries in the country. Each library has their own set of rules and admissions practices so it is a good idea to review their 'Access' page before going. Typically you need nothing more than your CUNY ID and a pencil. Photocopy policies and prices and restrictions on cameras vary as well.

Avery Architecture & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University
Accessible to CUNY PhD students who are MaRLI card holders (no circulation privileges however) or have a METRO Referral pass to view items unavailable at the Graduate Center Library.
Brooklyn Museum Libraries and Archives
No appointment is necessary but researchers are asked to search the Libraries' catalog and to email citations prior to the visit.
more...less...
The libraries consist of a general art history library, the Wilbour Library of Egyptology, institutional and curatorial archives, and other special collections. Also worth noting are the online exhibition history and links to additional web resources.
Frick Art Reference Library
The Frick Library is open to all researchers and no appointment is necessary. Researchers must obtain a Reader's Card, information is on the website.
more...less...
In addition to monographs and periodicals covering European and American art history from the 4th-20th centuries, the Frick also has a large collection of auction and exhibition catalogs and a photo archive, the Frick is also home to the Center for the History of Collecting in America.
International Center of Photography
NYC's only library devoted entirely to photography, the ICP's Research Library has regular hours for ICP members M-F and is open to the public by appointment.
Library at the Hispanic Society of America
Focused on the arts and cultures of Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. It includes the largest manuscript collection outside of Spain. Not all of the collection has been cataloged so contact the library directly with any question about holdings. No appointment is needed to use the library.
MoMA Library and Study Centers
MoMA has two library locations, one in Manhattan and one in Queens, both are open by appointment. In addition, researchers have access to study centers and archives.
more...less...
In addition to an extensive collection of books and periodicals covering the history of art in its many forms since 1880, the Library also has a large collection of artists' books. The Archives holds papers and notebooks of notable artists, organizations, and the Museum. Curatorial departments have study centers that are open to researchers as well. Contact the Archives and Study Centers directly to schedule an appointment.
NYPL Art & Architecture Collection
Located in room 300 at the south end of the Main Reading Room the Art & Architecture Collection is just one of many useful collections in the study of art and art history.
more...less...
Other collections worth exploring include the Photography Collection, the Print Collection (includes artist books) and the Spencer Collection of illustrated books and manuscripts (especially strong in find bindings and livres d'artistes) all located in room 308. Permission to use the collections is required, researchers must apply by completing this form. Holdings for these special collections are scattered, some are in the online catalog others are not. Refer to the collection page for specific information related to finding materials.
The Morgan Library
The Morgan Library focus is on the history, literature, and art of the Western world. Use of the library is by appointment. In addition, an application form must be completed.
Watson Library, Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Watson Library is the largest art museum library in the country. No appointment is needed although readers do need to complete a registration form upon the first visit. This library has a free self-service scanner.

Visiting Other Libraries

Other CUNY Libraries
All CUNY students and faculty have access to all CUNY libraries and may check out books at all but CUNY Law. Reference books, special collections, audiovisual materials, and electronic resources may be used only within these libraries.
Metro Referral Cards
Ask at the reference desk on the second floor of the Graduate Center library for one-time-only passes to New York City area libraries, beyond CUNY.
If items are available at a CUNY library, you would use CLICs (Inter-library borrowing) or visit that library in person; Metro Cards are used for one-time to access beyond CUNY's collections. For longer access, see MaRLI above.
MaRLI (Manhattan Research Library Initiative)
This research initiative allows selected researchers access and circulation privileges at Columbia University, New York University, and New York Public Library's research libraries.