The databases you see on this page are just a small subset of all of the databases (collections of resources) available to you through the Graduate Center Library. See the full A-Z list to see all databases from every discipline.
Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR) is a peer-populated platform for art history teachers. AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities. The site promotes discussion and reflection around new ways of teaching and learning in the art history classroom through a peer-populated blog and fosters a collaborative virtual community for art history instructors at all career stages.
This resource collects materials about the research process and helps researchers design their projects. Search for a particular research approach (i.e. qualitative, quantitative, ethnographic) and see descriptions and examples from books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journals, and videos. Read more in our GC Library blog post about Sage Research Methods.
The full-text version of Art Index indexes over 450 journals, providing the full text of over 300 titles beginning with 1997. In addition to art history and architecture titles, many film journals are included.
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art in all languages, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Encompasses thousands of journal titles in Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields.
Search Arts Premium as a whole or via individual databases in the following collections:
A rich database of over 1.4 million images of art and architecture, including maps, charts and graphs. Please note: before you can download and save images, you must register for your own personal account (click "Register" for first time users on the upper right of the screen). The GC does not have an institutional login. Click more for links to user guides and more information.
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. RILA covers the years 1975–1989. Materials relate to the art of Europe and the Americas from the fourth century to the present, painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, decorative and applied arts, popular and folk art, architecture and industrial design, and film. See more about this resource and the list of indexed journals here.
Registration is free but required. The BMI is updated quarterly and currently covers the period 1903-1977. All the editorial content of The Burlington Magazine - articles, letters, reviews, calendars - and its illustrations are included with direct links to the full text in JSTOR.
Search the Grove Dictionary of Art via the Oxford Art Online platform. Grove contains entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations. Browse through Timelines of World Art, Subject Guides or Resources for Educators created by organizations like MoMA and the Met. *Oxford's home page features a prominent login which is optional (use it to save searches and content to a personal account)
The Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of JSTOR offer the full text of over 2,400 scholarly journals including African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist and women's studies, film studies, folklore, geography, history, language, literature, Middle East studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, sociology. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years.
Interdisciplinary full-text database. Full text of over 8,700 journals, including 7.900 peer-reviewed journals, with indexing for another 4,000 titles. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two. Also includes the text of pamphlets, conference papers, conference proceedings, and educational reports.
Search all Oxford University Press databases to which the Graduate Center subscribes: Oxford Art Online, Oxford Bibliographies Online, Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford History of Western Music, Oxford Journals Online, Oxford Language Dictionaries Online, Oxford Music Online, Oxford Reference Online, and Oxford Scholarship Online. After performing a search, you must check the "Show only full text provided by CUNY Graduate Center" box.
The CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to full text of over 350 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The green checkmark icon will appear next to the library's subscribed content.
Looking for ebooks? There are over 2000 open access books on the MUSE platform. Open Access (OA) content on the Project MUSE platform will have a "OA" icon. Project Muse Ebooks are also available via the New York Public Library.
More than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith , and Talcott Parsons.
Additional Websites, Journals and Other Resources
A selection of individual journals that cover art and the humanities.
Avalanche was an artist journal published in New York City from 1970-1976 by Willoughby Sharp and Liza Béar. This website is an index to the contents of Avalanche. It is designed to help you identify articles, interviews, and other content within the magazine, which you can then seek out in print at a library near you.
Though scholarly works on video art history often refer to Radical Software, there are few places where scholars can review its contents. Individual copies are rare, and few complete collections exist. This website makes it available and searchable on the internet.