Additional Library Resources
- Library HomepageMain page of the Mina Rees Library website
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
- 24/7 chat and email referenceNeed an answer right away? Reference help available 24 hours a day through Ask-A-Librarian chat and email service.
- CRL Research GuideThe College and Research Libraries has a guide for medieval studies materials in their collection.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature, including journal articles and books. The Graduate Center Library has created a customized version that knows the library’s electronic journal holdings and links you directly to the articles in the library’s databases.
Go to GC-customized Google Scholar
Note: If you’re off campus, you’ll be prompted to log in with your GC credentials before you can access library subscriptions.
Suggest New Materials
The library welcomes suggestions for new books and other materials.
Need It Soon? Purchasing and processing new materials takes weeks. If you need an item quickly, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Faculty: To request materials for a GC course you're teaching, use the Reserve Request Form.
Ancient and Medieval History (To 1600)
This guide provides you with easy access to sources pertinent to doing research in Ancient and Medieval History up to 1600. Use the tabs towards the top of the page to go to the relevant section. Please contact me if you need further assistance.
To find sources for journal articles select the Articles tab
To search for print and electronic books select the 'Books' tab
To search archival collections and primary source databases select the 'Primary Sources' tab
To search for dissertations and theses, select the "Dissertations & Theses' tab
For information on bibliographic citation styles and citation managers such as Zotero and Refworks select the 'Citing Sources' tab
For information on grants and fellowship opportunities select the 'Grants & Funding' tab
E-Research Basics
Our E-Research Basics guide acquaints you with the basics of doing online research through the Mina Rees Library. You'll find information about logging in for remote access, deciding on and searching within a database, locating specific articles and doing broad exploratory searches, determining whether the GC has access to a particular journal, and more.
Reference Online (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)
- Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index beginning with Volume 1 published in 1928. Covers Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information. - Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. It brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond. Translated and edited under the auspices of The Center for Hellenic Studies in Washington, DC, The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is based on the completely revised 3rd Italian edition published in 2013 by Loescher Editore, Torino. - Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected titles from this reference collection exploring Islam's past and present:
- The Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is an authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Glossary and Index of Terms treats the technical terms in Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Urdu and other languages or dialects of the Islamic world.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, Third Edition (EI-Three) is an entirely new work, with articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. Published in five substantial segments each year, both online and in print, EI-Three's scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
- Historical Atlas of Islam or Atlas Historique de l’Islam provides an overview of Islamic history from its inception up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Regional and city maps are used to address a broad variety of topics.
- Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to reflect the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is a platform for searching across the following art reference works listed below. Create an optional subscriber account to save searches.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
- The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd ed.)
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art
- And the Grove Dictionary of Art, which can also be searched separately at Grove Art Online
- (CUNY does not subscribe to the Benezit Dictionary of Artists)
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographies in American literature, Anthropology, Atlantic history, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, International Relations, Islamic studies, Latin American studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources. - Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With 600,000 words and 3.7 million quotations from over 1,000 years, the OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. The OED is updated quarterly with revised entries and new words and senses. The updates make up the Third Edition of the OED. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.
Subject Guide
Room 2318
CUNY Graduate Center
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016-4309
Library Workshops
Check the library calendar for upcoming workshops about library research and scholarly publishing.
Library Blog
Consult the library blog to see what's new. Subscribe to receive new posts by email.