OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. EEBO includes over 146,000 titles published in English and more than 30 other languages from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the ages of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Transcriptions are available for approximately 50% of the texts.

Millions of books digitized by a variety of major research institutions. See this post for more information about public domain items available to all via HathiTrust.

Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Oxford Academic provides access to scholarly and academic books and journals from Oxford University Press and its partners. The publications cover a wide range of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. Access to the AMA Manual of Style is also included.

Content from Oxford Handbooks, University Press Scholarship Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, and Very Short Introductions can now be found through Oxford Academic.

First published in 1902, Cambridge Histories span subject areas across the humanities and social sciences. The GC’s subscription includes over 400 titles in American History; Ancient & Classical Studies; Asian History, British & European History; Global History, Literature, Middle East & African Studies, Music & Theatre; Philosophy & Political Thought; and Religion.

**GC-subscribed Cambridge content is discoverable in CUNY OneSearch.

A vast database of bibliographic records, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800. Includes references to microfilm, digital, and other facsimile versions. The ESTC is co-managed by the British Library and the Center for Bibliographic Studies and Research (CBSR) at UC Riverside.

Full text of over 1,800 reference works published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include American Civil War Reference Library, Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000, Encyclopedia of Aging, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Case Study Research, Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Magill's Survey of World Literature, Vietnam War Reference Library; World Education Encyclopedia.

Bibliographies in American literature, Anthropology, Atlantic history, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, International Relations, Islamic studies, Latin American studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.

With 600,000 words and 3.7 million quotations from over 1,000 years, the OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. The OED is updated quarterly with revised entries and new words and senses. The updates make up the Third Edition of the OED.

Formerly Oxford Language Dictionaries Online. Translations of thousands of Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish words and phrases.

Text of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.