NYPL Database Highlights - History - Ancient and Medieval (To 1600) - Research Guides at CUNY Graduate Center's Mina Rees Library

Welcome / About this Guide

This guide highlights a selection of resources that are available to Graduate Center students through the New York Public Library (NYPL). Some of these items are available from home (see the Remote Access NYPL Databases tab below) and all are accessible in person at an NYPL branch (some of which are included on the NYPL On-Site Only Databases tab). NYPL has many other resources and electronic offerings not listed here. See NYPL's Articles & Databases page for a complete list of their holdings.*

"Remote Access NYPL Databases" are accessible wherever you have an internet connection
- To use these resources, instead of using your GC Network ID, please enter your New York Public Library barcode and PIN from your library card. You can apply for a library card online and pick it up at the nearest NYPL location. Please report any access issues using this form.
  - For more information about getting a NYPL card, see Library Cards
  - Remember that Graduate Center students have access to 120 day loans from many NYPL locations--see the MaRLI guide for full details.
"NYPL On-Site Only Databases," you must visit participating New York Public Library branches for online access. The nearest branch to the Graduate Center with access to all research databases is the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building on Fifth Avenue at 42nd Street.

Don't forget MaRLI and ILL: For full details about the Manhattan Research Library Initiative, see the NYPL & MaRLI page. Items at NYPL can also still be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

*See the Graduate Center's Library Databases from A to Z list for all that is available through the Graduate Center Library.

Highlighted/Selected Databases from the New York Public Library

Remote Access NYPL Databases
NYPL On-Site Only Databases

To use these resources, instead of using your GC Network ID, please enter your New York Public Library barcode and PIN number. If you do not have a NYPL library card, you can apply for one online and pick it up at the nearest NYPL location.

American Periodical Series
This database contains over 1,800 magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant titles. Some of these titles are archived at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).
Brill Online Bibliographies
Search seven bibliography eBooks published by Brill: ABIA - Index of South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology, Bibliography of Arabic Books Online, Book History Online, Index Islamicus, Index to the Study of Religions, Linguistic Bibliography, and The International Aristotle Bibliography.
Cairn.Info
Cairn.info is an online collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines.
Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index
Indexes more than 150 prominent art history periodicals held by the Frick Art Reference Library, covering Western European and American fine arts and some decorative arts from the 4th-19th centuries.
Liberty Magazine
The Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 offers researchers and students of 20th century studies digital access to one of the most popular American illustrated weekly magazines of the 1920s-1950s. The archive includes the complete 26-year run of the magazine - all scanned in full color.
Lynda.com
Lynda.com is an online educational site that includes over 3,000 courses (and over 130,000 videos) in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, and business. Experts create and deliver all courses as well as provide supplemental materials like exercise files and relevant work samples. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes.
New York Tribune/Herald Tribune (1841-1962)
Full text and full page and article images of the following titles: New-York Tribune (1841-1842); New-York Daily Tribune (1842-1866); New-York Tribune (1866-1924); New York Herald, New York Tribune (1924-1926); The New York Herald Tribune (1926-1962).
Oxford Handbooks Online
The full collection of Oxford Handbook series, which provides peer-reviewed research articles from scholars in the field of archeaology, business & management, classical studies, criminology & criminal justice, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion.
Periodicals Index Online
A database of millions of citiations for articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Over 6,000 journals are included. Journals indexed span 37 key subject subject areas and multiple languages.
PressDisplay
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles.
Project Muse Ebooks
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. The Graduate Center does not participate in Project Muse ebook collections, but you can access these titles when you log in through NYPL.
ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers
Includes the Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003, Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988, Chicago Defender 1910-1975, Cleveland Call and Post 1934-1991, Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2005, New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993, Norfolk Journal and Guide 1921-2003, Philadelphia Tribune 1912-2001, and Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002.
ProQuest Jewish Historical Newspapers
Includes The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1874-2000), Boston Advocate (1905-1909), The Israelite (1854-1874), The Jerusalem Post (1950-1988), the Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), and Palestine Post (1933-1950).
ProQuest Latin American Newstand
ProQuest Latin American Newsstand provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. The complete articles are available in ASCII format.
Times of India (1838-2003)
Full text access to the Times of India, from 1838-2003.
Times of London
Archive of the Times of London, from 1785-2009.
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO)
University Press Scholarship Online offers full text of over 7,000 academic monographs in 21 subject areas covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and law from six leading university presses.

You must visit participating New York Public Library branches in person for access to these resources. The two nearest locations to the Graduate Center with access to all research databases are the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building on Fifth Avenue at 42nd Street, and the Science, Industry and Business Library on Madison Avenue at 34th Street.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials provides the full-text access to major religion and theology journals. ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials contains full-text journals in English and other major European languages, and covers all aspects of religion.
British Newspapers, 1600-1950
Searchable full-text adigital archive of historic British national, regional and international newspapers, including two major news media collections from the British Library : 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers & 19th Century British Newspapers - in addition to National & Regional papers from British Isles.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
ull text of entertainment industry trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, and theater. Titles include Variety (1905-2000), Billboard (1894-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), Melody Maker (1926-2000) and more.
Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index
Indexes more than 150 prominent art history periodicals held by the Frick Art Reference Library, covering Western European and American fine arts and some decorative arts from the 4th-19th centuries.
Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th Century New York City
A collection of historical directories, member lists, and other name-rich sources, focusing on New York City during the long 19th century. Documents are fully text-searchable and originate from the print collection of the New-York Historical Society. Other categories of documents include maps, illustrated advertisements, burial lists, and gazetteers.
HarpWeek
Full-text digital database of Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), the leading American illustrated magazine of its day, covering political, military, social, and cultural stories. HarpWeek may be browsed by date or literary genre; the full text is searchable by keywords.
The Nation Archive
The full text of the Nation Magazine, from 1865-present.
Available at all NYPL locations.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Vogue Archive
The full text, full color, archive of Vogue Magazine, from 1892-present.
Available at all NYPL locations.