The Dictionary of Old English: A to I Online includes the first release of the letter I, containing some 435 headwords, as well as revised versions of the nine previously published installments (1986-2016).
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), and draws on texts from a wide range of dates, dialects and genres.
The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus (DOE) is a fully searchable database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. The DOE represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin. It defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language and complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period C.E. 1100-1500) and the Oxford English Dictionary. The three together provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.
Compiled as part of the Dictionary of Old English project at the University of Toronto, the texts in the Corpus are XML-encoded and are fully conformant with the Text Encoding Initiative Guidelines (TEI-P5 2007).
The Digital Temple offers diplomatic and modern-spelling transcriptions of Williams MS. Jones B62, Bodleian MS. Tanner 307, and The Temple: Sacred Poems and Private Ejaculations, first edition (STC 13183, Folger Shakespeare Library copy). These may be viewed, alongside digital images of the sources, either as discrete witnesses in their entirety, or as individual poems in parallel display, the latter with a full set of critical annotations and textual notes.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. EEBO includes over 146,000 titles published in English and more than 30 other languages from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the ages of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Transcriptions are available for approximately 50% of the texts.
ECCO contains digitized versions of the 180,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed between 1701 and 1800 that are cataloged in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The majority of the works are in English with several thousand in French or Latin, and smaller numbers in Ancient Greek, German, Italian, Scots Gaelic, Spanish and Welsh, and other languages. Use the Advanced Search option to limit results by language and/or collection categories such as fine arts, history and geography, law, literature and language, medicine, science, and technology, religion and philosophy, social sciences, general reference, or a combination of subjects. Illustrated works may be searched by cartoon, map, music, portrait, etc.
A vast database of bibliographic records, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800. Includes references to microfilm, digital, and other facsimile versions. The ESTC is co-managed by the British Library and the Center for Bibliographic Studies and Research (CBSR) at UC Riverside.
Gale Literature searches multiple databases at once, combining Gale Literature Resource Center (biographies, overviews, criticism, audio interviews, and reviews), Gale LitFinder (full text poems, plays, short stories, and speeches from all eras), and Gale eBooks (reference sources). It also includes the Gale Literary Index covering 165,000 authors and 215,000 works, and workflow tools to analyze information.
Access to reliable information on authors and their works, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. The database includes biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of literary figures. The source enables tracing of the development of an author's catalog and evolution of their reputation. For an even larger search tool which includes Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography and more, try Gale Literature.
A database representing a range of contemporary and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Content is sourced from a wide variety of scholarly and popular commentary, including broadsheets, pamphlets, books, and periodicals. Types of works analyzed include, but are not limited to: children’s, classical, drama, medieval, novels, poetry, Shakespearean, and short story. For an even larger search tool which includes Gale Literature Criticism and more, try Gale Literature.
More than 300 entries on critics, theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods from Plato and Aristotle to the present. Updated annually.
A digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work.
The MLA Bibliography covers the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, popular culture, folklore, and film from the late 19th century to the present. It includes over 3 million citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, the controlled vocabulary of thousands of subject terms, names, and works used in indexing the materials listed in the Bibliography. For more results, use Gale Literary Sources.
Digitized primary source collections of books, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, and maps held in the British Library, the Bodleian Library, the U.S. and U.K. National Archives, the Library of Congress, and other repositories. The GC’s subscription consists of eight collections: Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange; British Politics & Society; British Theatre, Music & Literature: High and Popular Culture; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Photography: The World through the Lens; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Bibliographies in American literature, Anthropology, Atlantic history, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, International Relations, Islamic studies, Latin American studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
The CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books.
This resource is a searchable collection of works focusing in the period between 1800 and 1830. Includes canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America. Also contains a complete digital version of The Wordsworth Circle journal.
An online collection based on Joseph Sabin’s famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time. Contains 65,000 books, pamphlets, newspapers, political tracts, sermons, maps, legislation, and literature about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin features original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, politics, culture, contemporary opinions, religious history, and more. Covers North, Central, and South America, and the Caribbean.
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare published or produced since 1960. The more than 136,000 records in 120 languages cite several hundred-thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings. Note that full-text links will not appear in this database.
All Graduate Center Databases
The databases you see on this page are just a small subset of all of the databases (collections of resources) available to you through the Graduate Center Library. See the full A-Z list to see all databases from every discipline.