Historical News Accounts
- New York Times Archive, 1851-2018
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Actual page images from 1851 through 2018. Following years are added annually. When the results of a search are displayed, you have three retrieval options: 1. bibliographic citation and abstract; 2. article image (retrieved with Adobe Acrobat Reader); 3. page map, displaying the entire page on which the article appears. For current access, see New York Times Academic Pass.
Regional News Websites
AL JAZEERA The English language Web site for the Arabic news and current affairs satellite TV channel with the same name.
ALLAFRICA.COM AllAfrica aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources, who are responsible for their own reporting and views. AllAfrica.com is a distributor of news from specifically African press, with stories posted daily in English and French language text. While this source requires a paid subscription for use of the archives, current news is freely accessible.
MEMRI, Middle East Media Research Institute
The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) "explores the Middle East through the region's media. MEMRI bridges the language gap which exists between the West and the Middle East, providing timely translations of Arabic, Farsi, and Hebrew media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East. Founded in February 1998 to inform the debate over U.S. policy in the Middle East, MEMRI is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit, 501 (c)3 organization. MEMRI's headquarters is located in Washington, DC with branch offices in Berlin, London, and Jerusalem, where MEMRI also maintains its Media Center."
Contemporary International News
- Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis)
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with sources from around the world, including local, regional, national, and international newspapers, scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines, television and radio broadcasts, and newswires and blogs. Legal sources include federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also contains business information on U.S. and international companies (see Dossier section) and patent data (see TotalPatent One section).
- WORLDPRESS.ORGThis gateway leads to links to newspapers from around the world
International News Sources
- Al Jazeera
- Daily Yomiuri (Japan)
- Gulf News (United Arab Emirates)
- Jerusalem Post
- Independent (UK)
- International Herald Tribune (IHT)
- Irish Times
- Japan Times
- Korea Times
- Middle East Times
- Moscow Times
- Prague Post (Czech Republic)
- Russia Journal
- Santiago Times (Chile)
- Sydney Morning Herald (Australia)
- South China Morning Post
- Times of London
- Zimbabwe Independent
Subject Guide
International News Archives
- International News Archives. SLA News Division Web Site.These pages provide links to non-US news archives available on the Web