Research Guides: Political Science: Public Opinion Polls

Featured Resource

ANES: American National Election Studies
ANES is a political science survey which studies voters political behavior during each general election. It has an archive of datasets including time series data of individual responses to their surveys back to 1952. Also data from other studies that ANES has conducted over this period. This is a useful resource for scholars and students of US elections and voter opinion.
Pew Global Attitudes Project Key Indicators Database
This interactive database allows users to explore public opinion trends in 55 countries on topics ranging from attitudes toward the U.S. to people's assessments of their own lives to views about globalization, democratization, extremism and other important issues. Data can be searched by question, topic or country - results can be displayed in map, table or chart formats. The findings are from 8 surveys conducted by the Pew Global Attitudes Project from 2002-2009 among 200,000 respondents
Latin American Public Opinion Project
The Latin American Public Opinion Projectis based at Vanderbilt University.

Find Public Opinion Polls

Need to find public opinion polls? Use the following sources to find polling data.

ABC News Polling Unit
Contains polling data collected by ABC News from 2005 to the present.

American Religion Data Archive
Contains national and international surveys, questionnaires, and reports focused on religion. Associated with the Pennsylvania State University.

Angus Reid Global Monitor
Since 2003 the Angus Reid Global Monitor website has tracked and made available a free-access online public opinion database that includes surveys from around the world. It tracks attitudes and perceptions concerning political, social and economic topics.

Associated Press / Ipsos Poll
Contains polling data collected by the Associated Press and Ipsos from 2003 to the present.

Canadian Opinion Research Archive
Contains Canadian commercial and independent surveys from 1973 to the present.

CBS News Polls
Contains polling data collected by CBS News from the current year.

Europa - Public Opinion
The Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission makes survey results available from this website.Its surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.

Gallup Poll
Contains recent polling data from the Gallup Poll.

Fox News Polls
Contains polling data collected from Fox News from 2005 to the present.

The Harris Poll
"Begun in 1963, The Harris Poll is a long running proprietary survey conducted by Harris Interactive measuring public opinion . The nationally representative polls, conducted both by telephone and online, measure, and trend, the knowledge, opinions, behaviors and motivation of the general public. New survey data on a wide variety of subjects including politics, the economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, science and technology, sports and entertainment, and lifestyles are published weekly."


Iraqanalysis.org
The Iraq Analysis Group maintains a list of opinion polls carried out in Iraq. It aims to be a comprehensive list of significant polls available in English. The site provides analysis of the data and a link to the organization conducting the poll.

Kaiser Family Foundation - Kaiser Polls
Contains thousands of survey questions from the past 65+ years on health issues.

Los Angeles Times Polls
Contains polling data collected by The Los Angeles Times from 1996 to the present.

New York Times Polls
Contains polling data collected by The New York Times from 2002 to the present.

NPR / Kaiser / Kennedy School Poll
Contains polling data from 1999 to the present.

Pew Research Center for the People and the PressThis organization conducts polls on politics, the media and American perspectives. They also conduct the Pew Global Attitudes Project, "a series of worldwide public opinion surveys that encompasses a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. More than 90,000 interviews in 50 countries have been conducted as part of the project's work"

PIPA: Program on International Policy AttitudesPIPA conducts studies of public attitudes on various international topics. The website contains studies of U.S. opinion and studies of world opinion. They have also published a new website/webzine called WorldPublicOpinion.org, as a source of in-depth information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issue

PollingReport.com
An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. Contains frequently updated polling results and data.

Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda is a non-profit research organization that does opinion surveys on a wide variety of issues.

Public Opinion Poll Question Database
Contains polling data collected by Harris, Southern Poll, state polls, and the Knight Foundation Community Polls from 1970 to the present.

Time Magazine / SRBI Polls
Contains polling data collected by Time Magazine and SRBI from 2004 to the present.

The Wall Street Journal / NBC News Polls
Contains polling data from The Wall Street Journal and NBC News. Subscription required.

The Washington Post Polls
Contains polling data from The Washington Post from 1997 to the present.

World Public Opinion.org
This website, produced by the Program on International Policy Attitudes and launched in January 2006 provides articles on the results of opinion polls taken around the world. Articles are organized by region and topic. While there is no archive of past polls provided, the older articles will be listed farther down the chronological listing.



Zogby International
This for-profit polling organization conducts opinion research on both domestic and international issues. Their website offer news reports on their research findings. Zogby also works with think-tanks, universities and research groups to conduct polls.

Survey Data

General Social Survey: The General Social Survey is an ongoing regular personal interview survey of U.S. households conducted by the National Opinion Research Center. The survey measures the direction of American attitudes, experiences, practices and concerns. Since 1994 the GSS has been conducted in even number years.
ICPSR: Interuniversity Consortium for Political & Social Research: ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is the world's largest archive of computer-readable social science data. As a member institution, GC faculty and students have direct and free access to download data. The data resources include but are not limited to surveys of values, attitudes, health, race and religion, political exit polls and voting behavior, data on crime, and consumer income.
World Values Survey: Surveys conducted by a network of social scientists at universities world-wide to provide a worldwide investigation of sociocultural and political change in four waves 1990-1991, 1995-1996, 1999-2001, and 2005.

Additional Guides to Opinion Polls and Surveys

Guide to public opinion poll Web sites: Polling data from around the world, C&RL News, October 2006, Vol. 67, No. 9 by Gary Thompson and Sean Conley

Other Polling Data. (list compiled by World Public Opinion.org)

Washington Post Data Directory. A guide to public opinion data published on the internet by non-partisan organizations