For More Information...
For additional information about managing references and creating bibliographies, consult the library's more extensive Cite Your Sources guide.
Need help? Check the library calendar for upcoming citation management workshops and drop-in help sessions, or request an appointment with a librarian.
Guides to Common Citation Styles
- APA Style Online
The style and grammar guidelines pages present information about APA Style as described in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. The full APA style guide is available in print. This supplementary site from APA includes quick reference materials and updates.
- MLA Style OverviewOverview of MLA style, including the details of citations and bibliographies, from Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab).
- MLA FAQAnswers to frequently asked questions about MLA style.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
Full text of the 17th and 18th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, including quick guide, questions and answers, and additional tools.
- Turabian Quick GuideThis site gives a quick overview of Turabian style, which is a simplified version of Chicago style.
- Scientific Style and Format OnlineNow in its eighth edition, the indispensable reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields has been fully revised by the Council of Science Editors to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing.
- Style Guides from Purdue OWLPurdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) provides overviews of numerous styles, including APA, Chicago, MLA, AMA, and IEEE.
Citation Managers
The GC library supports two citation managers: Zotero and RefWorks.
Citation managers allow you to save and organize references you gather during research. They allow you to easily import citations from library databases and other websites, and to manually enter information about sources that aren't represented online. Citation managers also generate bibliographies in a wide variety of styles.
Zotero Basics
- ZoteroSaves and helps you to organize citations to articles, books, webpages, and more. Works with Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari. Install the Zotero Word plug-in to quickly create bibliographies and add citations to papers.