Research Guides: Music: Center for Research Libraries

CRL Dissertations

Based in Chicago, CRL was founded in 1948 by a consortium of Midwestern universities seeking to pool lesser-used resources. The collection holds over 800,000 dissertations from 90+ universities in Germany (66%), Netherlands (2%), France (16%), Switzerland, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and the UK; also from Latin America, South America, and Africa. What CRL does not own, it will acquire for interlibrary loan to Graduate Center affiliates.

CRL Resources

Music @ CRL
Highlights CRL's music manuscript and periodical collections. Additional resources include books, newspapers, dissertations for interlibrary loan
Dissertations @ CRL
800,000 foreign dissertations for interlibrary loan

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding millions of pages of digitized content to date.

CRL resources include:
- The largest circulating collection of newspapers in North America – more than 16,000 newspaper titles from all world regions and from every U.S. state – mainstream dailies, underground and alternative press titles, rare publications from international conflict zones, U.S. ethnic titles, early African-American newspapers, and radio broadcast reports and transcripts
- Foreign journals rarely held in U.S. libraries, with a focus on science and technology
- Access to rich holdings in science, technology, and engineering print serials through a partnership with the Linda Hall Library
- More than 800,000 non U.S. dissertations
- Area Studies: major collections of news, government documents, and archives from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, and Southeast and South Asia
- Millions of pages of primary source documents, including major sets from the National Archives of the U.S. and the U.K., and many special collections from around the world
- U.S. and international legal and government resources

CRL Reference

CRL librarians will identify resources relevant to your work. Contact Mary Wilke, CRL's Member Liaison & Outreach Services Director, with reference questions.