Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
CIAO is also a source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes.
Includes full text of recent issues of 73 international affairs journals, as well as case studies and working papers. Abstracts only for additional journals.
This search includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959. Full-text of 449 American ethnic newspapers, magazines, and journals in English and Spanish.
Gale Literary Sources searches many Gale literature databases at once (Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library), with added search visualization tools (Term Frequency and Term Clusters).
The Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of JSTOR offer the full text of over 2,400 scholarly journals including African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist and women's studies, film studies, folklore, geography, history, language, literature, Middle East studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, sociology. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years.
Guide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social, and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Coverage includes more than 507,000 citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present.
Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with access to over 10,000 sources. Offers news sources from around the world, including most of the world's major English-language newspapers, including The New York Times since June 1, 1980, and Chronicle of Higher Education since September 1997. It also includes many non-English language newspaper titles, as well as scholarly journals, trade journals, popular magazines, sources for legislation statues and codes (including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790), and news blogs.
MLA indexes over 3,000 periodicals dealing with literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and popular culture from 1926 to the present. MLA includes the full text from more than 300 recent journals. For more results, use Gale Literary Sources.
Full runs of 48 newspapers, as well as partial runs of 131 more, specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Also includes newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present. *NOTE: Because this resource has two parts, users must select both parts in the by content set box to search the complete database.
Search all Oxford University Press databases to which the Graduate Center subscribes: Oxford Art Online, Oxford Bibliographies Online, Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford History of Western Music, Oxford Journals Online, Oxford Language Dictionaries Online, Oxford Music Online, Oxford Reference Online, and Oxford Scholarship Online. After performing a search, you must check the "Show only full text provided by CUNY Graduate Center" box.
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals
This resource collects materials about the research process and helps researchers design their projects. Search for a particular research approach (i.e. qualitative, quantitative, ethnographic) and see descriptions and examples from books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journals, and videos. Read more in our GC Library blog post about Sage Research Methods.
Indexing of 2,540 journals in the social sciences, with full text as far back as 1895 for 848 journals, as well as the text of more than 40,000 conference papers from such organizations as American Sociological Association and American Society of Criminology.
Cited references in all disciplines in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Drawn from the top 15% of scholarly journals in more than 250 categories.
Web of Science Core Collection includes: Citation Indexes, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index–Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index–Social Science & Humanities, Book Citation Index–Science, Book Citation Index–Social Sciences & Humanities, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus.
BIOSIS Citation Index: covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Current Contents Connect: tables of contents and bibliographic information from leading scholarly journals and books.
Data Citation Index: data sets from a wide range of international data repositories
Derwent Innovations Index: patents and patent citations.
KCI-Korean Journal Database: managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea.
MEDLINE: managed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Russian Science Citation Index: managed by the Scientific Electronic Library (eLIBRARY.RU), Russia's largest research information provider.
SciELO Citation Index: open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.
Zoological Record: taxonomic records, oldest continuing database of animal biology.
Author search and disambiguation
Search by affiliation, funding agency, chemical structure, cited references and more
Times cited (# of times an article has been cited by later articles)
Citation reports for authors
Saved searches, search alerts, and citation alerts
Journal impact factors
Includes numerous bibliographic indexes, including Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index information all the way back to 1900!
OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes the CUNY library catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content. For more details, see our OneSearch blog post series.