Library Catalogs
- OneSearchOneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
- CUNY CLICSYou can have books from other CUNY libraries sent to the Graduate Center. Find a book in the CUNY Catalog, click the record for the title, and then click Request. CLICS can only be used for circulating books, not reference books, electronic books, periodicals, etc. If you need photocopies of an article or book chapter submit an interlibrary loan request.
E-Books
- Ebook Central
Ebook Central combines what were formerly ebrary and Ebook Library (EBL) into one new platform. Contains electronic books in all disciplines from a number of academic publishers. Available titles may also be found in OneSearch.
- EBSCO Ebook CollectionFormerly known as NetLibrary, the EBSCO eBook Collection provides more than 2,800 scholarly and popular titles. Browse by subject category or search across the collection to find full text ebooks. Create a free account to enable full downloads.
- Eighteenth Century Collection OnlineECCO contains digitized versions of the 180,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed between 1701 and 1800 that are cataloged in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The majority of the works are in English with several thousand in French or Latin, and smaller numbers in Ancient Greek, German, Italian, Scots Gaelic, Spanish and Welsh, and other languages. Use the Advanced Search option to limit results by language and/or collection categories such as fine arts, history and geography, law, literature and language, medicine, science, and technology, religion and philosophy, social sciences, general reference, or a combination of subjects. Illustrated works may be searched by cartoon, map, music, portrait, etc.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryMillions of books digitized by a variety of major research institutions. See this post for more information about public domain items available to all via HathiTrust.
- JSTOR Ebooks
A selection of electronic books from scholarly publishers. All permanently held ebooks are cataloged in OneSearch, and additional titles can be found in the JSTOR interface directly. Over 8,000 open access ebooks are available through JSTOR, and the GC also has access to Path to Open titles. Full chapters can be downloaded as PDFs, without limit to the number of chapters.
Reference
- Oxford BibliographiesBibliographies in American literature, Anthropology, Atlantic history, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, International Relations, Islamic studies, Latin American studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
- Oxford DictionariesFormerly Oxford Language Dictionaries Online. Translations of thousands of Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish words and phrases.
- Oxford ReferenceText of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.
- Oxford Academic via NYPLPlease log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
Oxford Academic provides access to scholarly and academic books and journals from Oxford University Press and its partners. The publications cover a wide range of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. Access to the AMA Manual of Style is also included.
Content from Oxford Handbooks, University Press Scholarship Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, and Very Short Introductions can now be found through Oxford Academic.
Google Books
Beyond CUNY
- Interlibrary LoanIf the book you need is not available at any CUNY library or if you need an article from a journal not at the Grad Center or photocopies of a book chapter submit a request for this item via interlibrary loan. If you have questions or need help placing your request, email ill@gc.cuny.edu
- Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI)Collaboration between The New York Public Library and the libraries of Columbia University and New York University.