It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cognitive Neuroscience: Books
This guide is intended to be used as a starting place for research in the Master of Arts in Cognitive Neuroscience program.
The PEP-Web Archive provides the full text of 83 psychoanalytic journals dating back to 1918 (most with a three- to five-year embargo of current articles), 98 psychoanalytic books, and all 24 volumes of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud cross-linked to the corresponding text in the German Freud Gesammelte Werke. Also includes a collection of archival video lectures and documentaries.
Create a free personal account to access additional features, such as saving searches, or enabling 90-day access without having to log in. A personal account is not required in order to search, browse or access full text on PEP.
This American Psychological Association (APA) database provides the full text of more than 4,500 scholarly and professional books published by the APA, including over 100 out-of-print titles, the APA Handbooks in Psychology series, and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. Also includes a substantial backfile of classic and historical works, with the earliest title dating to 1620. Available titles may also be found in OneSearch.
Published since 1960, Advances in Computers covers innovations in computer hardware, software, theory, design, and applications. The Graduate Center has access to this book series from Volume 66, 2006, to the present.
OneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
Books Beyond the GC
If the Graduate Center does not have the book you need, you can have the book sent here from another library.
You can have books from other CUNY libraries sent to the GC library, or to the CUNY library of your choice. Find a book in OneSearch, log in, and initiate a request. CLICS is for circulating books only, not reference books, electronic books, periodicals, etc. If you need a scan of an article or book chapter, submit an interlibrary loan request.
Full text of over 1,800 reference works published by Gale, Brill Academic, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Sage, Salem Press, Wiley, and others. Titles include American Civil War Reference Library, Ancient Europe, 8000 BC to AD 1000, Encyclopedia of Aging, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Case Study Research, Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, Magill's Survey of World Literature, Vietnam War Reference Library; World Education Encyclopedia.
Collection of 600+ Oxford University Press handbooks in a wide range of subjects. Select “Unlocked” to see available titles, which may also be found in OneSearch. Other than Music, our collections do not include titles published after 2014. Those handbooks are available through the New York Public Library remotely.
Text of nearly 400 Oxford University Press reference works in 25 core subject areas. Titles include Oxford Companions to American Literature, American Theatre, the Bible, British History, Classical Civilization, History of Modern Science, Music, Philosophy, Politics of the World, Shakespeare, United States History, and Western Art. Available titles may be found in OneSearch.