Looking for a Specific Journal?
- Electronic and Print Journals at the Graduate CenterSearch the GC library's holdings of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Electronic Journals at New York Public LibraryFind electronic journals available both at NYPL and from home.
- Print Journals at New York Public LibrarySearch NYPL's research catalog for journals, magazines, and newspapers not available electronically.
- Library Doesn't Have the Journal You Need? Use Interlibrary Loan!Whenever you need an article from a journal that the GC library doesn't have, you can request the article via interlibrary loan.
Best Bets for Cognitive Neuroscience Research
- Web of Science
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Massive multidisciplinary index of scholarly publications, with especially strong coverage of the sciences and social sciences. Includes numerous sub-databases, most notably the Web of Science Core Collection, which provides cover-to-cover indexing of 21,000+ peer-reviewed journals. Includes citation data for publications, allowing searchers to identify highly cited articles, find citations to a given article/author, and track citations over time. Includes detailed author records and several unique search capabilities, such as the ability to search by author affiliation, grant number, or chemical structure. Also includes awarded grant information and associated publications. - PubMed
This link opens in a new window
More than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and online books. See this guide for information about the differences between Medline, PubMed and PubMed Central. By using this link, users will provided links to full-text resources available through the GC library. - PubMed Central
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). See this guide for information about the differences between Medline, PubMed and PubMed Central. - ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for 2,600+ peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracting for many additional titles from their first issues. Most of the journals are in the sciences and social sciences, but there are several in the humanities, mostly in linguistics. Graduate Center access also includes indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents (but not full text) for thousands of e-books. - PsycArticles
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers general psychology and basic, applied, specialized, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Contains full text from 119 American Psychological Association journals and journals from related organizations from 1894 to the present. Also includes book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata. - PsycInfo
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health fields, covering the psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It indexes book chapters, books, dissertations, technical reports, and articles from over 2,200 journals. Coverage is international in scope and dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic citations from over 1,500 linguistic and language periodicals from 1973 to the present. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Databases for Related Topics
- Nature Journals and Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of the journal Nature from 1869 to present, as well as many other Nature titles. Click more to see a selection from among the dozens of journals that are accessible. - PsycTests
- This link opens in a new window
A database of full text psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research. Also includes structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields. Uncheck the APA Handbooks box to search only PsycTests. - Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP)
- This link opens in a new window
The PEP-Web Archive provides the full text of 83 psychoanalytic journals dating back to 1918 (most with a three- to five-year embargo of current articles), 98 psychoanalytic books, and all 24 volumes of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud cross-linked to the corresponding text in the German Freud Gesammelte Werke. Also includes a collection of archival video lectures and documentaries.
Create a free personal account to access additional features, such as saving searches, or enabling 90-day access without having to log in. A personal account is not required in order to search, browse or access full text on PEP. - Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 journals covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education from 1987 to the present. This database is part of the ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection. - Science Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of Science Magazine since 1880. Search across the full run of the publication or browse by issue. To reach the magazine archive, select Journals from the menu and then click on Science. On the Science page, select Archive to view issues by decade, then navigate to specific years and issues. Click on 1940s to display earlier decades. - General Science Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 300 scholarly, professional, and popular science periodicals published from 1984 to the present in the United States and the United Kingdom. Includes full text for more than 100 publications from 1995 to the present. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more.
Article & Journal Impact
Article Impact: One measure of the impact of an article is the number of times it has been cited by other articles. These databases offer robust cited reference searching:
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Journal Impact: A journal's impact is calculated by analyzing (in different ways by different tools) how frequently its articles are cited. Journal-level metrics are provided by:
- Journal Citation Reports
- This link opens in a new window
For more information, see the Research Metrics guide.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature, including journal articles and books. The Graduate Center Library has created a customized version that knows the library’s electronic journal holdings and links you directly to the articles in the library’s databases.
Go to GC-customized Google Scholar
Note: If you’re off campus, you’ll be prompted to log in with your GC credentials before you can access library subscriptions.