The Amateur Movie Database was developed to learn more about the world of amateur cinema. It assembles information about amateur films, filmmakers and clubs to help: researchers find out more about amateur movies; archivists to identify and contextualize amateur films; all interested parties to learn more about this alternative world of filmmaking. Films included in the database are winners of amateur movie contests or works that have been identified as significant by archives and historians.

Updated weekly, the Black Film Archive showcases Black films made from 1915 to 1979 that are currently streaming.

In Spanish. Collection of archival resources, bibliographies, photographs and links related to Mexican silent film, with a special emphasis on those made in Toluca.

Contains information on films, actors, production companies, and other aspects of early silent-era African American race films. Includes a database, data tutorials, links to external sources, and a full bibliography.

"LUCERNA is an online resource on the magic lantern, an early slide projector invented in the 17th century. LUCERNA includes details of slide sets, slide images, readings and other texts related to slide sets, lantern hardware, people and organisations involved in lantern history, and much more."

"The Media Ecology Project (MEP) is a digital lab at Dartmouth College directed by Prof. Mark Williams that enables researcher access to archival moving image collections and contribution of critical analysis back to the archival and research communities."

The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative, led by Eric Hoyt at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for broad public access.

"This database was created in 2012 and has been developed and curated by Barbara Flueckiger, professor at the Department of Film Studies, University of Zurich to provide comprehensive information about historical film color processes invented since the end of the 19th century including specific still photography color technologies that were their conceptual predecessors."

Jane Gaines, Radha Vatsal, and Monica Dall’Asta, eds. Women Film Pioneers Project. New York, NY: Columbia University Libraries.

"'Little Movies' is a lyrical and theoretical project about the aesthetics of digital cinema, and a eulogy to its earliest form--QuickTime. The project began in 1994 when the World Wide Web was just beginning to gain mass exposure. Manovich's intention was to create cinema for the Web, employing the network limitations as a new aesthetic."

"'Volumetric Cinema' demonstrates the possibilities for 'looking at film sideways,' taking the film scene as an object not just of two spatial dimensions rushing past in time, but as a spatiotemporal cube that can be manipulated, offering new methods of investigation into our understanding of moving image techniques such as editing, camera movement, and blocking."