Film Studies

New Database Package - ProQuest Arts Premium

The library now has a subscription to ProQuest Arts Premium, which includes Art/Design/Architecture, Music/Performing Arts, and Screen Studies collections. Search them together or individually using the links below.

All Graduate Center Databases

The databases you see on this page are just a small subset of all of the databases (collections of resources) available to you through the Graduate Center Library. See the full A-Z list to see all databases from every discipline.

Looking for a specific Journal?

Use the journal title search tool to check whether the library has access to a particular journal through our databases. 

More instruction can be found in the Finding Electronic and Print Journals blog post.

Highlights from the New York Public Library

See our guide about the GC and the New York Public Library, for a list of featured resources available remotely.

Film Studies Databases at the GC

Loading ...

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) produces a package of electronic databases that are available to access onsite at NYPL's research libraries (including the SIBL branch, next door to the Graduate Center on Madison Ave. at 34th St.). Collectively called FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus, it includes:

  • International Index to Film Periodicals
    The main database, the International Index to Film Periodicals, offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. The database includes almost 400,000 article references from more than 360 titles.
  • International Index to Television Periodicals
    The database International Index to Television Periodicals includes approximately 50,000 article references from 1979 to 2000. Please note that this database is no longer updated and that television-related references from film journals continue to be indexed in the International Index to Film Periodicals.
  • Treasures from the Film Archives
    The database Treasures from the Film Archives contains unique information about silent film holdings in international film archives. It provides filmographic and holdings information on over 53,000 silent shorts and features, fiction and non-fiction, from over 112 of the world's major film archives.