Books and Other Resources
- OneSearchOneSearch combines many initial searches into one interface: it includes print books from all CUNY libraries; Graduate Center ebooks; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; Graduate Center course reserves; dissertations at CUNY and beyond; and unique digital content.
- WorldCat DiscoveryWorldCat Discovery is a catalog and discovery system containing millions of records for print and electronic holdings in thousands of libraries around the world.
Recent Acquisitions
Reimagining History in Contemporary Spanish Media by ISBN: 9781839540400Publication Date: 2021-11-22
Border Cinema: Reimagining Identity through Aesthetics by ISBN: 9781978803152Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Coming Soon
New titles currently on order, arriving soon to the Mina Rees Library!
Antifascism and the Avant-Garde by
From the publisher: Leftist filmmakers of the 1960s revolutionized the art of documentary. Often inspired by the radical art of the Soviet 1920s, filmmakers in countries like France and Japan dared to make film form a powerful weapon in the fight against fascism, weaving fiction into nonfiction and surrealism with neorealism to rupture everyday ways of being, seeing, and thinking. Includes careful readings of Matsumoto Toshio, Jean-Luc Godard, Chris Marker, Agnès Varda, Hani Susumu, and others.
ISBN: 9780520415669Publication Date: 2025-02-25
Barbara Hammer in the Seventies by
From the publisher: Barbara Hammer in the Seventies: Or, What a Body Can Do addresses the intersection of experimental film, lesbian sexuality, and the women's movement in Hammer's early films. This rereading of Hammer's work offers an important contribution to conversations between feminism and queer studies. In remembering the feminist origins of queer studies, it recenters political and ethical questions such as the fundamental relationality of the subject, the subject's dependency on others, and the resulting ethical responsibility for and towards the other.
ISBN: 9783031596940Publication Date: 2025-01-14
The Bloomsbury Handbook of North Korean Cinema by
From the publisher: This handbook provides a solid and diverse foundation for the expanding scholarship on North Korean cinema. It is also a road map for connecting this field to broader issues in film and media studies: film history, affect and ideology, genre, and transnational cinema cultures. By connecting the worlds of North Korean cinema to broader questions in global cinema studies, this book explores the complexity of a national cinema too often reduced to a single image.
ISBN: 9798765102824Publication Date: 2025-02-20
Bollypolitics by
From the publisher: This book provides an in-depth exploration of the evolving landscape of Bollywood cinema in response to recent socio-political changes in India, including a surge in sectarian violence and the ascent of Hindutva, or Hindu nationalism, under Prime Minister Narendra Modi's leadership. Through a comprehensive analysis of prominent filmmakers and actors like Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Kangana Ranaut, Akshay Kumar, and Anupam Kher, Ajay Gehlawat elucidates the profound and far-reaching impact of Hindutva ideology on Indian cinematic narratives and aesthetics, while also considering the broader implications for Indian society as a whole.
ISBN: 9781350401921Publication Date: 2026-01-22
The Cinema of Extractions by
From the publisher: In this book, Brian Jacobson traces the surprising and inextricable connections between extractive industries and cinema, developing new ways to read films in light of the typically unseen material practices out of which they are built. The Cinema of Extractions explores the ties between the worlds of movies and the materials that make movies possible and between the industries that make movies and the industries that use movies to reshape the world. Jacobson retells the history of cinema through the lens of extraction, considering its roots as a material form and its use as a tool for corporate and industrial world making.
ISBN: 9780231213585Publication Date: 2025-02-04
A Critical Companion to David Lynch by
From the publisher: This edited volume provides a wide-ranging exploration of Lynch's films, practices, and collaborations, with nineteen original chapters examining themes including narrativity, aesthetics, artistry, sound, experimentation, metafiction, and patriarchy from the disciplinary perspectives of film studies, art studies, gender studies, literary studies, and philosophy. Lynch's entire thought-provoking oeuvre, spanning over fifty years, will be examined, including his shorts and films, animations, TV series, paintings, and commercials.
ISBN: 9781666928105Publication Date: 2024-12-04
The Revolution of Indian Parallel Cinema in the Global South (1968-1995) by
From the publisher: Drawing from over a decade of research and writings, this book takes you on an epic journey through the history of Indian Parallel Cinema (1968 - 1995). From auteurs like Mani Kaul and John Abraham to Smita Patil and Om Puri, The Revolution of Indian Parallel Cinema in the Global South explores the origins, evolution, demise and legacy of a film movement that produced a pantheon of innovative filmmakers, in excess of two hundred films and a distinctly regional identity in which film societies, state funding and political insurgency were catalysts for a defiant, radical dialogue, much of it anti-establishment, that broke all the rules. Most importantly, this publication considers the ways in which Parallel Cinema narrated a new 'history from below', using a range of case studies that includes Uski Roti, Mirch Masala and Amma Ariyan.
ISBN: 9798765101018Publication Date: 2025-02-20
The Routledge Companion to American Film History by
From the publisher: Rather than follow a chronological format, as with most film histories, this Companion offers a multiplicity of approaches to historiography and is arranged according to often underdeveloped or overlooked areas in American film, including topics such as alternate archives, hidden labor, histories of style, racialized technologies, cinema's material cultures, spectators and fans, transnational film production, intermedial histories, history in and about films, and the historical afterlives of cinema. An exciting collection for serious film studies students and scholars interested in new perspectives and fresh approaches to thinking about and doing American film history.
ISBN: 9781032610283Publication Date: 2025-02-12
Transnational Cinema Solidarity by
From the publisher: After the 1973 coup that put an end to the socialist government of Salvador Allende, most Chilean filmmakers went into exile. Dispersed all over the world, they made more than two hundred fiction films, documentaries, animations, videos, and works for television. José Miguel Palacios builds upon extensive archival research to trace a transnational history of this radical cinema, beginning with its emergence out of global solidarity networks in the 1970s. Chronicling the dangerous efforts to smuggle film reels out of Chile, the discourses of political cinema these films inspired as they traveled between film festivals, and the prints' unfinished process of return to Chilean archives and museums over the past two decades, Transnational Cinema Solidarity offers a politicized understanding of world and transnational cinema that emphasizes geopolitical relations and cinematic alliances based on solidarity.
ISBN: 9780520410237Publication Date: 2025-04-22
Where Is Abbas Kiarostami? by
From the publisher: When Abbas Kiarostami suddenly passed away in July 2016, he was already an iconic figure in world cinema--and his reputation as a master filmmaker has only grown since. In this book, celebrated scholar Hamid Dabashi offers a new way of looking at Kiarostami's artworld, one that questions the very idea of film philosophy. Dabashi's authoritative account of the philosophical resonances of Kiarostami's oeuvre offers an iconoclastic critique of the field's Eurocentrism and, in vivid prose, makes the case for a new method of appreciating the work of this essential figure. The result is a provocative perspective on the totality of Kiarostami's legacy that, with deep roots in Iranian aesthetic and Persian poetic and philosophical traditions, overcomes film's provincial preoccupation with its Western heritage and charts a new path forward for film-philosophy.
ISBN: 9780520397170Publication Date: 2025-02-04
Scarecrow Press Historical Dictionaries
Finding New Scholarly Books
The Association of University Presses produces a subject area grid that can be helpful in identifying which catalogs to browse for academic books on a given topic.
- AUPresses Subject Area Grid 2025Download the PDF or Excel spreadsheet to identify academic publishers that specialize in a given topic.
Selected E-Books: Film Studies
Chick Flicks: Theories and Memories of the Feminist Film Movement by ISBN: 0822321211Publication Date: 1998-09-30
Closely Watched Films: An Introduction to the Art of Narrative Film Technique by ISBN: 9780520959019Publication Date: 2014-11-24
Visionary Film by ISBN: 9780199727018
Online Reference Sources
- Oxford Bibliographies
Bibliographies in American Literature, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Education, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, the Renaissance and Reformation, Urban Studies, and Victorian Literature. Bibliographies are drawn from books, journals, and internet resources.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by ISBN: 9780203992005Publication Date: 2005-12-08
ACLS E-Books: Film and Media Studies
- ACLS E-Books: Flim and Media StudiesACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Cambridge Film Handbooks
- Cambridge Film Handbooks (ACLS E-Books)11 titles in the Cambridge Film Handbooks series, available in ebook format.