Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014
The New York Public Library provides access to many historic, local, and international newspaper databases. You must go to an NYPL research library to access many of these databases.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
- Alternative Press Index
Indexes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and leftist periodicals from 1991 to the present.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Text of 729 newspapers from 1836 to 1922, including three New York papers: The Evening World, The Sun, and The New York Tribune.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History)
A full-text database for American ethnic newspapers, magazines, and journals in English and Spanish. Coverage varies by title, typically 1990s-present
- Gannett Newsstand
Text of 87 American newspapers not available from other databases, most from 2002 to the present.
1,639 news sources from around the world, including most of the world's major English-language newspapers. Coverage varies by title, mostly 1980s-present.
- New York State Newspapers
Full text of 10 newspapers. Coverage 1980-2011. Click the blue 'i' icon to view titles.
- New York Times Archive, 1851-2009
Full 1851-2007. For current issues search LexisNexis
More than 1,000 major U.S. newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world from 1980 to the present.
- Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
Includes complete runs of 48 national and regional newspapers, as well as partial runs of 131 more, specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. Because this resource has two parts, users must select both parts in the by content set box to search the complete database.
The Center for Research Libraries has over 10,00 titles from every state in the US and around the world. Our membership with the CRL allows for on site use or interlibrary loan request of CRL holdings.