Current US Newspapers: 1980-present
- Ethnic NewsWatch (and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This resource contains full-text of over 500 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959 and provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Publications are in a wide variety of languages including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Creole, Inuktitut, Russian, Hindi, Japanese, Arabic, and others. - Gale OneFile: News
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 3,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts. - General OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 14,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, along with over 200,000 images, 3,300 audio files, and thousands of videos. Includes full text from 8,070 publications. - Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis)
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with 17,000 sources from around the world, including local, regional, national, and international newspapers, scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines, television and radio broadcasts, and newswires and blogs. Legal sources include federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also contains business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies. - New York State Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Now a part of Gale OneFile: News. Includes the following NY publications among thousands of others from around the world: New York magazine, New York Daily News, The New York Observer, New York Post, The New York Sun, The New York Times, The New York Times Book Review New York Times Upfront, amNewYork, International New York Times, The Ticker, Our Town, WPIX-TV, Columbia Daily Spectator, Our Town Downtown, UN News Service, Washington Square News, and West Side Spirit. Use the Publication Search Tool to find specific titles.
- New York TimesMultiple database options for accessing the NYT from 1851 to the present.
- New York Times Academic Pass
- This link opens in a new window
All of CUNY has access to the NYTimes Academic Pass. Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and smartphone apps. Please click through for instructions.
- New Yorker Digital Archive (via NYPL login)The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present. Available at all NYPL locations and remotely with an NYPL library card.
- PressReader (via NYPL login)Provides access to current newspapers and magazines published in the last 90 days, with many popular and international titles. Full-color, full-page format.
NYPL Newspaper Databases
Through its Articles & Databases page, the New York Public Library provides access to numerous databases that contain newspapers and other periodicals. Some are subscription resources available remotely with a library card, others are available on site at NYPL branch and/or research libraries, and others are open access resources available anywhere without a login. Searching on the word newspapers turns up more than 160 resources that can be filtered further by subject or availability. Access them here: NYPL Newspaper Resources.
Newspapers on Microfilm @ NYPL
The Microforms Reading Room at NYPL's Stephen A. Schwarzman Building (5th Ave & 42nd St) has a collection of national and international newspapers on microfilm. Titles can be found by searching the NYPL catalog or one of the pdf lists of microforms in the collection linked below.
Looking for a Specific Newspaper or Journal?
- GC Library Journal SearchUse the GC's Journal Search tool to check whether the library has access to a particular journal through our databases.
- NYPL Journal Title SearchSelect "Journal Title" from the drop down menu in the New York Public Library's Research Catalog to find specific newspapers, magazines, or other periodicals.
- WorldCat DiscoveryUse the Advanced search in WorldCat Discovery and select "Journal Source Phrase" under Source Index to find specific titles.
More Digitized Newspapers and Magazines
See the Digitized Texts page in our Beyond Wikipedia research guide for links to additional newspapers, magazines, books and other texts online, including the archive of Life Magazine, the Making of America sites from Cornell and the University of Michigan, The New Yorker Magazine archive, the Modernist Journals Project, and more. Many of the resources listed are open access.
Historical US Newspapers
- Accessible Archives
This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 18th and 19th century American newspapers, magazines, books, and other publications. Collections include African American newspapers, Civil War publications, anti-slavery periodicals, early women’s magazines, a collection of women’s suffrage periodicals, and publications by Frederick Douglass, Harriet Tubman, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony and more. Over 170 books and more than 70 journals are included.
- African American Historical Newspapers from ProQuest (NYPL database)This NYPL database is available to users onsite or remotely with a library card. Includes African American historical newspapers from around the United States, such as the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 7500 digitized American periodicals published from the 17th century through the late 19th century. The Graduate Center subscribes to the five series which cover all aspects of American society, including science, medicine, literature, politics, the history of slavery, the Civil War, Westward expansion, industry and professions, agriculture, religion, fashion, family life, culture and the arts, and more. - American Periodicals (1740-1940) via NYPL
This link opens in a new window
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
This database contains over 1,800 magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant titles. - Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, speeches, letters, political leaflets, periodicals, trial transcripts, and interviews by major American Black teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other leaders, covering over 250 years of history. Writers include James Baldwin, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Bunche, Angela Davis, Frederick Douglass, W. E. B. Du Bois, Ralph Ellison, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Thurgood Marshall, Huey Newton, Jackie Robinson, Paul Robeson, Bobby Seale, Booker T. Washington, Cornel West, Richard Wright, and many others. Search across the collection or browse by person, subject, title, historical event, content type, place, or publisher.
- Brooklyn NewspapersDeveloped by the Brooklyn Public Library, this free resources provides access to the full-text of more than 40 newspapers published in Brooklyn from 1809 to 1999. Papers include the Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1963), The Caravan (1953-1961), The Chat (1903-1929), and The Williamsburg News (1952-1965), among others. Browse by title or date, or search across the archive.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding over 15 million pages of digitized content to date. - Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This link opens in a new window
This site from the Library of Congress includes a searchable directory containing information on more than 150,000 newspapers published in the U.S. since 1690. It also includes searchable digitized images of 3,600 selected local and regional newspapers published from 1777 to 1963, including more than 20 New York papers.
- Fulton Search: Historical Newspapers (U.S. & Canada)A searchable database of newspapers published in the U.S. and Canada. Create an account to log in and search and see the Help & FAQs section for tips on using the site. Fulton Search is an alternative search option for FultonHistory.com. Users may also browse the list of newspapers.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of books digitized by a variety of major research institutions. See this post for more information about public domain items available to all via HathiTrust. - Internet Archive
- This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive, a vast digital library, includes a large number of newspapers, journals, and other periodicals. Search text collections by title or subject.
- New York City Record, 1873-1949The City Record is has been published daily in NYC since 1873 and includes "official listings of more than 100 city agencies and departments about public hearings, meetings, property auctions, agency rules, personnel changes and contracts to be awarded" as noted in a a profile article in the New York TImes. Browse or search across PDFs of every issue published between 1873-1949.
- Newspapers.com via NYPL
- This link opens in a new window
*Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!*
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
- New York City NewspapersSee the "Newspapers" article in the 1995 edition of the Encyclopedia of New York City for a history of newspapers in New York and lists of 18th Century newspapers, daily newspapers, and foreign-language newspapers published in NYC, organized by date of first publication.
- New York City Newspapers at the NYPLProvides an overview of the NYPL's collection of New York City newspapers and facilitates access to the most frequently requested titles.
- New York State Historic Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Over 11 million pages from newspapers published in New York State between 1725 and 2020. The newspapers on the website are either in the public domain (any papers published before January 1, 1924) or have been cleared for use by the original copyright holders for members of the public for noncommercial, educational, and research purposes. - New York Times Archive, 1851-2018
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Actual page images from 1851 through 2018. Following years are added annually. When the results of a search are displayed, you have three retrieval options: 1. bibliographic citation and abstract; 2. article image (retrieved with Adobe Acrobat Reader); 3. page map, displaying the entire page on which the article appears. For current access, see New York Times Academic Pass.