Current International Newspapers: 1980-present
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online CatalogThe Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding over 15 million pages of digitized content to date.
- Gale OneFile: NewsProvides access to more than 3,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis)
Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with sources from around the world, including local, regional, national, and international newspapers, scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines, television and radio broadcasts, and newswires and blogs. Legal sources include federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also contains business information on U.S. and international companies (see Dossier section) and patent data (see TotalPatent One section).
- New York Public Library - International Newspapers DatabasesThe New York Public Library subscribes to many databases containing international newspapers. Some may be accessible remotely with an NYPL library card while others may only be accessed on site. Click on the "databases" tab to see a list of resources.
- People's Daily OnlineThe People's Daily is the official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China. Provides full-text coverage of daily issues between 1946 to 2005.
- World-Newspapers.comA free online resource listing newspapers, magazines, and news sites from around the world, including the U.S., in English. Also includes several world news services and providers. Organized by country and region.
Looking for a Specific Newspaper or Journal?
- GC Library Journal SearchUse the GC's Journal Search tool to check whether the library has access to a particular journal through our databases.
- NYPL Journal Title SearchSelect "Journal Title" from the drop down menu in the New York Public Library's Research Catalog to find specific newspapers, magazines, or other periodicals.
- WorldCat DiscoveryUse the Advanced search in WorldCat Discovery and select "Journal Source Phrase" under Source Index to find specific titles.
NYPL International Newspapers
- New York Public Library International Newspaper DatabasesThe New York Public Library subscribes to many databases containing international newspapers. Some may be accessible remotely with an NYPL library card while others may only be accessed on site. Click on the "databases" tab to see a list of resources.
- New York Public Library - General Newspaper Resources
Through its Articles & Databases page, the NYPL provides access to numerous databases that contain newspapers and other periodicals. Some are subscription resources available remotely with a library card, others are available on site at NYPL branch and/or research libraries, and others are open access resources available anywhere without a login. Searching on the word newspapers turns up more than 160 resources that can be filtered further by subject or availability.
Historical International Newspapers
- The British Newspaper ArchiveAccess hundreds of historic newspapers from all over Britain and Ireland. Search across the collection or browse by Date, Country, Region, County, or Place.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online CatalogThe Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers to supplement member libraries’ holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences. With a strategic emphasis on expanding electronic access to international primary source collections, CRL participates in a number of cooperative digitization efforts, yielding over 15 million pages of digitized content to date.
- Daily Observer Digital ArchiveThis is a comprehensive archive of the Daily Observer, Liberia’s best-known, independent, national newspaper, published in English. The Daily Observer, founded in 1981, is notable for its coverage of the modern history of Liberia—including the Liberian Civil War and through its current phase of development.
- El Mundo Digital ArchiveThis is an archive of El Mundo, a conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico. Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States including citizenship and activities of independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, the Ley de la Mordaza (Gag Law) and more. The publication was founded in 1919 and ceased publication permanently in 1990.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History)This resource contains full-text of over 500 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, which covers 1990 to the present, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which includes materials dating back to 1959 and provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Publications are in a wide variety of languages including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Creole, Inuktitut, Russian, Hindi, Japanese, Arabic, and others.
- Imperial Russian NewspapersThe collection chronicles 189 years of Russian history through out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The collection includes 33 publications, with core titles from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the Russian Empire.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican NewspapersThe collection includes more than 56,000 issues of nearly 1,000 newspaper titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). These newspapers provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, along with local, regional, national, and international news.
- Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese NewspapersThe collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic in 1949. It consists of 292 newspapers published between 1911 and 1949.
- Middle Eastern and North African NewspapersThe Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring. Content is predominantly in Arabic but also includes key titles in English and French.
- Nineteenth (19th) Century British NewspapersThe GC’s subscription includes Parts I and II, comprised of 69 titles published between 1800 and 1900, selected by the British Library to best represent 19th century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Also includes newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present.
- Seventeenth-Eighteenth (17th-18th) Century Burney Collection NewspapersThe newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, charting the development of the concept of news, newspapers, and the free press, totals almost one-million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
- South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource containing historical and contemporary sources from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region. SAOA includes hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social and economic history, literature, women and gender, and caste and social structure.
- South Asian NewspapersThe collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more. With titles and issues dating as far back as the 1850s, the collection provides coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the 19th and 20th centuries.
- South Asian Newsppers - NYPL DatabaseThis NYPL database provides online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries. This resource is part of the NYPL's subscription to the World Newspaper Archive and does not overlap the GC's South Asian Newspapers database from CRL. Requires NYPL login.
- Digital South Asia LibraryThe Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia. The Library includes: images, maps, statistics, books, journals, and more.
- Southeast Asian NewspapersThe collection covers several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and features multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese. The collection includes 129 titles and incorporates coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.
- World Newspaper Archive, 1800-1922 - NYPL DatabaseThis NYPL database includes historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, South Asia, and the United States. NYPL Login required.