Founded in 1969, the APC is a non-profit collective dedicated to providing access to and increasing public awareness of the alternative press. Use the Online Directory to identify current print and online publications by subject.

"AlterNet’s aim is to inspire action and advocacy on the environment, human rights and civil liberties, social justice, media, health care issues, and more. "

"[W]e produce original journalism about criminal justice that engages the public and holds officials to account. We focus on the most significant drivers of mass incarceration, which occur at the state and local level. ... We draw on deep expertise to expose the human impact of our most routine criminal justice practices."

A print-only monthly English-language newspaper founded in 2022 by consumer advocate Ralph Nader. The paper, which covers Congress and legislative affairs, and whose motto is "Democracy Dies in Broad Daylight," is available by mail for a donation of $5. Read about it in The Nation.

"Breaking news and views for the progressive community." International in scope, coverage includes climate, the environment, war and peace, the economy, and rights.

"A bimonthly print magazine of culture, politics, and the absurd" with content online.

A daily independent international news program. Browse the A-Z list of topics to find resources and reporting on important current events.

The California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH) Gerth Archives and Special Collections has acquired the vast Hold Labor Library and archives, which includes include a complete run of The Black Panther newspaper, the civil rights publication Freedomways, La Raza, and early 20th century labor periodicals such as The Liberator, the Marxist magazine New Masses, and Western Worker, published by the Communist Party in San Francisco.

Founded in 1976, this "independent, nonprofit magazine, is dedicated to advancing democracy and economic justice, informing movements for a more humane world, and providing an accessible forum for debate about the policies that shape our future."

"[A]n award-winning news organization that covers national security, politics, civil liberties, the environment, international affairs, technology, criminal justice, the media, and more."

A New York City-based free newspaper and online news site. Published in print 13 times a year on Mondays, and updated daily online.

"Jacobin is a leading voice of the American left, offering socialist perspectives on politics, economics, and culture."

A nonprofit news outlet reporting on the urgent issues of the day, "from politics and climate change to education and the food we eat."

150 year old independent weekly magazine covering politics, world news, books and arts, the economy, the environment, activism, and society. Issues of The Nation from 1975 to the present are available electronically at the GC. Also see The Nation's website for additional content.

"An independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest."

"Through cutting-edge stories, conversations, and collaboration, Rappler aims to speak truth to power and build communities of action for a better world."

"Unicorn Riot is a decentralized, educational 501(c)(3) non-profit media organization of artists and journalists. Our work is dedicated to exposing root causes of dynamic social and environmental issues through amplifying stories and exploring sustainable alternatives in today’s globalized world."

All issues of I.F. Stone's Weekly published between January 17, 1953 and December 1, 1971 are available online in pdf from the Official Website of I.F. Stone. Annual subject indexes in pdf accompany each volume and are available from the Search Page of the website.

"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."

"To a generation of trade union scholars and activists, Labor Research Review was a central forum for analysis, criticism, and strategic thinking on the American labor movement in the late 20th century. Coverage spans 1982 to 1996."

The LNS was founded in 1967 and served an alternative to the mainstream media by producing weekly news packets for counter-culture and New Left periodicals. The LNS is currently digitizing all of their news packets, which went out to hundreds of periodicals serving millions of readers, and making them available via pdf via this website.

This freely available web resource contains a list and glossary of Marxist periodicals. Access varies by title but may include a list of issues published, table of contents, subject index, issues in pdf, or full text. Some covers are reproduced. Titles include American Socialist (1956-1959), Anvil (1952-1960), The Call (London, 1916-1920), Clarion (London, 1991-1894), Student Partisan (New York 1934-1953), The Militant (1928-1934), Southern Worker (1930-1937), Western Worker (1932-1933), International Socialist Review (1901-1918), and others. Click on the "See Archive" links after glossary entries to access content. See the Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals section of the U.S.A. History Archive page on marxists.org for a list of digital holdings.

A web-based resource for the study of modernism. Includes a rich and growing collection of cover-to-cover digital editions of modern books and periodicals (ca. 1890-1922) and a biographical database of authors and artists. Publications include Masses (1911-1917), The Freewoman (1911-1912), and The Crisis (1910-1922).

A collection of more than 50 Trotskyist publications ranging from The Militant (1928-) to Socialist Appeal (1935-1937) to Workers Vanguard (1971-). Includes links to pdfs of complete issues or transcriptions of issues, as well as links to indexes where available.

Use the GC's Journal Search tool to check whether the library has access to a particular journal through our databases.

Select "Journal Title" from the drop down menu in the New York Public Library's Research Catalog to find specific newspapers, magazines, or other periodicals.

Use the Advanced search in WorldCat Discovery and select "Journal Source Phrase" under Source Index to find specific titles.