Popular Journal/Publisher Packages for Science Research
- American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Graduate Center access to ACS Publications includes full text of more than 80 ACS journals from their first issues to the present; current and legacy magazines; and the following:
- ACS Division Proceedings Online: Browse Proceedings by Division
- ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
- American Institute of Physics Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and AIP member societies. The Graduate Center Library's subscription includes Applied Physics Reviews, Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics, The Journal of Chemical Physics, Physics Today, The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, Review of Scientific Instruments, American Journal of Physics, Physics of Fluids, and AIP Advances. - American Physical Society Physical Review Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of journals published by the American Physical Society, including important titles like Physical Review, and Physical Review Letters. Journals cover quantum information science; atomic, molecular, and optical physics; condensed matter and materials physics; particles, fields, gravitation, and cosmology; statistical, nonlinear, biological and soft matter physics; accelerator science and technology; theoretical applications of physics; and research on fluids and materials. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 51 Annual Review journals in the social sciences, biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences and economics. The literature reviews synthesize current understanding of a topic, set the work in historical context, and include extensive bibliographies. Search across or browse reviews and journals in more than 45 scientific disciplines, including anthropology, astrophysics, biochemistry, criminology, earth and planetary sciences, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, and sociology. - Cell Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cell Press publishes over 50 scientific journals across the life, physical, earth, and health sciences, both independently and in partnership with scientific societies. Browse through for Cell content as well as: - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 5.5 million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Includes journals, conference papers, technical standards, books, and courses. - IOPscience Extra This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across and access full text of all current and archived journals, as well as e-books from the Institute of Physics (IOP).- IOP Journal List
- IOP Book List
- IOP Conference Proceedings are also available open access (no login required).
- IOP Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
The IOP Conference Series includes open access proceedings from science conferences held worldwide. Key topics include physics, materials science, environmental science, bioscience, engineering, computational science, and mathematics. - Nature Journals and Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of the journal Nature from 1869 to present, as well as many other Nature titles. Click more to see a selection from among the dozens of journals that are accessible.
- PNASProceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America from 1915 to the present.
- Optics Infobase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OSA offers the largest collection of peer-reviewed optics and photonics content. This repository includes content from OSA's journals,co-publications, and papers. For a full list of journals included, click "more." - Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PLOS is a nonprofit, open access publisher of the peer reviewed, Plan S compliant, and open data compliant journals PLOS Biology, PLOS Climate, PLOS Computational Biology, PLOS Digital Health, PLOS Genetics, PLOS Global Public Health, PLOS Medicine, PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases, PLOS ONE, PLOS Pathogens, PLOS Sustainability and Transformation, and PLOS Water. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for 2,600+ peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracting for many additional titles from their first issues. Most of the journals are in the sciences and social sciences, but there are several in the humanities, mostly in linguistics. Graduate Center access also includes indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents (but not full text) for thousands of e-books. - Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of Science Magazine since 1880. Search across the full run of the publication or browse by issue. To reach the magazine archive, select Journals from the menu and then click on Science. On the Science page, select Archive to view issues by decade, then navigate to specific years and issues. Click on 1940s to display earlier decades. - SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Graduate Center has full-text access to recent issues of over 3,000 mostly social science and science journals in this database. Only the articles with a Download PDF link are available in full text. Also includes thousands of titles from the Springer Ebook Collection, which can be accessed separately. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,600 journals (most from 1997-present), 250 reference works, and thousands of online books in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Search across the database using the basic or advanced search options or use the subject filters to explore content by topic.
Popular Databases for Science Research
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window A database produced by the National Library of Agriculture consisting of citations to journal articles (including abstracts) and bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. Contains 5.2 million+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century encompassing all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Contains full text for almost 1,200 journals along with citations to millions of articles within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. Coverage dates back to 1909.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- arXiv This link opens in a new window Open access to nearly 2 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- This link opens in a new window
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window Indexes nearly 300 scholarly, professional, and popular science periodicals published from 1984 to the present in the United States and the United Kingdom. Includes full text for more than 100 publications from 1995 to the present. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Follow the steps to customize Google Scholar to make it easy to find full text at the GC.
- This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of the human impact on the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1 million records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15 thousand records.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics, covering over 400 topics in a range of categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, economic development, land and water use, and pollution. Also offers interactive maps and contextual multimedia, customizable journals and news, refereed case studies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new window Full text of 2,500 medical journals, back to 1865 for some titles, as well as indexing for over 5,600 current biomedical journals. See this guide for more information about the differences between Medline, PubMed and PubMed Central.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window More than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and online books. See this guide for information about the differences between Medline, PubMed and PubMed Central. By using this link, users will provided links to full-text resources available through the GC library.
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). See this guide for information about the differences between Medline, PubMed and PubMed Central.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Science in Context This link opens in a new window Science In Context showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity to weather patterns. The collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications; 200+ experiments and projects; 330+ interactive simulations; and reference sources covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, and physics.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scientific Style and Format Online This link opens in a new window Now in its eighth edition, the indispensable reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields has been fully revised by the Council of Science Editors to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing.
- This link opens in a new window
- CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window Requires registration. CAS SciFinder-n, formerly SciFinder Scholar, is an index of chemical and other scientific literature that pulls from the CAplus database of U.S. and international patents, CASREACT, the CAS Registry and Medline. Includes journal articles, substances, reactions, patents and more. CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more. Both Graduate Center credentials and a SciFinder-n account are required for accessing CAS SciFinder-n remotely. New users must register first with a gc.cuny.edu or gradcenter.cuny.edu email address. Follow the "new users" link to register.
- This link opens in a new window
- CAS SciFinder-n (new users register here) This link opens in a new window
- SpringerProtocols This link opens in a new window SpringerProtocols is a database of over 80,000 reproducible step-by-step laboratory protocols and methods in biomedicine and life sciences. Covers a range of subject areas including biochemistry, genetics, infectious diseases, molecular biology, neuroscience, and many others.
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Massive multidisciplinary index of scholarly publications, with especially strong coverage of the sciences and social sciences. Includes numerous sub-databases, most notably the Web of Science Core Collection, which provides cover-to-cover indexing of 21,000+ peer-reviewed journals. Includes citation data for publications, allowing searchers to identify highly cited articles, find citations to a given article/author, and track citations over time. Includes detailed author records and several unique search capabilities, such as the ability to search by author affiliation, grant number, or chemical structure. Also includes awarded grant information and associated publications.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GC-Customized Google Scholar and PubMed
Like to use Google Scholar? Bookmark the GC-customized version of Google Scholar. It adds GC library links to articles we have access to, which will vastly improve your Google Scholar experience. When the full text isn't available, the "Find It" links will auto-fill the GC ILL form for you. See ASRC ILL Instructions (above).
Like to use PubMed? Bookmark the GC-customized version of PubMed. Unlike regular PubMed, it includes “Find It” buttons that direct you to full text via the GC library. When the full text isn’t available, the “Find It” buttons will auto-fill the GC ILL form for you.
All Graduate Center Databases
The databases you see on this page are just a small subset of all of the databases (collections of resources) available to you through the Graduate Center Library. See the full A-Z list to see all databases from every discipline.
Looking for a Specific Journal?
Search by journal title to check availability through our subscriptions and databases according to date.
Place an Interlibrary Loan request if you need access beyond what is immediately available.
Suggest a Journal Purchase
- Suggest a journal subscriptionThe Graduate Center Library welcomes journal subscription suggestions from the Graduate Center community. The library will carefully consider requests that are consistent with our Collection Policy.