Upcoming Library Workshops
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2024 11-noon: Accessing databases and library resources from off campus. Register here
Monday, Feb 26, 2024 6-7pm: Using Zotero for automatic citation management. Register here
Monday, March 11, 2024 2-3pm: Advanced Web of Science searching. Register here
Monday, April 1, 2024 11-noon: Open Access publishing and searching. Register here
Monday, April 29, 2024 2-3pm: Avoiding predatory publishers and evaluating journals. Register here
All workshops take place over Zoom, and registration is required. These events are aimed at scientists, but are open to anyone. If you have any questions, please contact Mason Brown mbrown3@gc.cuny.edu .
ASRC News and Updates
I'm pleased to announce that The Graduate Center has been able to add or extend our access to the following journals! Please contact Mason Brown mbrown3@gc.cuny.edu with any questions.
-
Advanced Energy Materials 2001-present
-
Advanced Materials Interfaces 2014-present
-
Advanced Optical Materials 2013-present
-
Departures in Critical Qualitative Research 2020-present
-
Lancet 1923-present
-
Nature Climate Change (back file) 2007 - present
-
Nature Electronics 2018-present
-
Nature Reviews Chemistry 2017-present
-
Nature Reviews Materials 2016-present
-
Nature Sustainability 2018-present
-
Social Epistemology 1987-present
We now have access to the complete Royal Society of Chemistry collection! In addition to the basic title package, we can access these additional databases:
- Royal Society of Chemistry Gold Collection
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Graduate Center access to the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Gold Collection includes 52 current peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences, including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics. See more... for the current journals title list.
Also included in the Gold Collection:
- Analytical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
A literature updating service covering developments in analytical science. The searchable updates, which are also browsable by subject, consist of article abstracts and details of analyte, matrix and technique. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection, Analytical Abstracts contains records from dozens of different journals from 1980 on, and covers a wide range of topics including materials science, food analysis, pharmacology, and environmental monitoring. - Catalysts and Catalysed Reactions
- This link opens in a new window
Continued in Synthetic Reaction Updates. Each monthly issue of Catalysts & Catalysed Reactions contained around 200 graphical abstracts selected from key journals in the field, covering all areas of catalysis research including homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis, biocatalysis, and kinetic and theoretical studies. The online database is fully searchable and indexed by reaction class, catalyst type, reactant, product, catalyst, journal and author. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection. - Chemical Hazards in Industry
- This link opens in a new window
Chemical Hazards in Industry provides details of literature reports on safety and health hazards surrounding chemicals encountered in chemical and related industries. This resource covers a wide range of primary sources, including key scientific and trade journals. Search records according to subject and chemical keywords, or browse recently added articles. Topics covered include health and safety, chemical and biological hazards, plant safety, legislation, protective equipment and storage, all relating to the chemical and allied industries. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection. - Laboratory Hazards Bulletin
- This link opens in a new window
Laboratory Hazards Bulletin provides details of literature reports on safety measures, potential hazards and new legislation affecting workers in laboratories. This resource covers a wide range of primary sources, including key scientific and trade journals. Search records according to subject and chemical keywords, or browse recently added articles. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection. - Methods in Organic Synthesis
- This link opens in a new window
Continued in Synthetic Reaction Updates. Each monthly issue of Methods in Organic Synthesis contained around 200 graphical abstracts selected from key journals in the field, covering all areas of synthetic chemistry including new reactions and reagents, asymmetric synthesis, and enzymatic transformations. The online database is fully searchable and indexed by reaction type, reactant, product, reagent, journal and author. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection. - Natural Product Updates
- This link opens in a new window
A literature updating service for keeping current with recent developments in natural products chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Natural Product Updates includes the most important natural product articles published in the recent scientific literature, which are searchable by topic, natural source, biological activity and structure type. - Synthetic Reaction Updates
- This link opens in a new window
Synthetic Reaction Updates is a literature updating service for keeping current with recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Synthetic Reaction Updates includes the most important reactions published in the recent scientific literature, presented as easy to read reaction schemes that are searchable by topic and reaction type. Part of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Gold Collection.
I'm pleased to announce that we now have access to the full runs of three new titles that had been requested:
As usual, these can be accessed through these links, through the Journals search tab on the library website, or through the Grad Center's Google Scholar link. Please let me know if you have any questions, or have any additional title requests.
The ASRC and CUNY Grad Center can now access the full texts of two new journals. We now have access to Science Signaling from 2008 to the present, and Science Translational Medicine from 2009 to the present. You can access them from anywhere through these links, through the library catalog, or through the GC's link to Google Scholar.
The Entire Optical Society of America journal package is now available at the ASRC and the Graduate Center! You can access this new journal package through the link below, through the Journals and Databases tab on this guide, or through the library homepage. Remember, if asked to log in, be sure to use your Grad Center username and password, not your ASRC credentials.
- Optics Infobase
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OSA offers the largest collection of peer-reviewed optics and photonics content. This repository includes content from OSA's journals,co-publications, and papers. For a full list of journals included, click "more."
ASRC Library Privileges
Advanced Science Research Center faculty, staff, and students are eligible for the same library privileges as all GC faculty, staff, and students:
- on-site access to any CUNY library
- remote access to GC library resources (using GC network account credentials)
- borrowing privileges from all CUNY libraries except the CUNY School of Law
- interlibrary loan privileges (including delivery of ILL books to ASRC)
For full details about library privileges, see the Access & Borrowing guide.
Ask a Librarian
There are many ways to get help from a librarian — choose the method that best suits your needs:
Chat: Chat with an academic librarian 24/7. If available, a CUNY librarian will answer your chat.
Email: Complete the question submission form and receive a reply by email.
By Appointment: Schedule a one-on-one research consultation by contacting your subject librarian.
In Person: Visit the reference desk (2nd floor of library) during reference hours.
Phone: Call the reference desk at (212) 817-7077 during reference hours.
Recent ASRC Publications
Your Librarian
The Graduate Center, CUNY
365 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016
mbrown3@gc.cuny.edu
Upcoming ASRC Workshops
Thursday, February 13 - Advanced Web of Science Searching - 10:00-11:1010 am
Thursday, February 27 - Zotero for Citation Management - 10:00-11:1010 am
Thursday, March 26 - Zotero for Citation Management - 10:00-11:1010 am
Thursday, April 2 - Open Access Publishing and Institutional Repository Use - 10:00-11:1010 am
Thursday. April 23 - Predatory Publishers - 10:00-11:1010 am
All seminars are held in the Seminar Room on the 1st Floor of the ASRC immediately after the Science Cafe, and are open to all ASRC students and faculty.
All seminars will be conducted over Zoom until further notice.