Our Archival Resource Guide is an excellent source of information about finding and using archival material, both on the web and in physical, real-world form. Of particular use to the LP2 researcher may be the section on finding archival collections, the resources found in online archival research, and the guide to oral histories.

Interested in how to find substantive background sources? Reference sources—of a wide variety—offer a supplement and alternative to Wikipedia, providing factual information about a topic. Check out the full guide here, or take a look through this small sample of what's there:

Statistics & Data: There are many free, online options for obtaining statistical information or data sets. Depending on whether you're seeking US Census Data, information relating to New York State, or about international topics, this guide offers some ways to find them.

Maps & Atlases: Many large-scale mapping projects are hosted online, including the Atlas of Historical Boundaries from the Newberry Library, the MLA Language Map, Open Street Map, and more.

Government Info: As you might expect, there is a staggering amount of information available from government sources, including (but far from limited to!) GovInfo (public access to government publications), Census.gov, and Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

Our guide to legal research is also part of the Beyond Wikipedia guide.

• Caselaw Access Project from Harvard Library A project that will make all U.S. case law freely accessible online.
• Congress.gov The official website for U.S. federal legislative information from the Library of Congress.
• Criminal Trial Transcripts of NY County Collection (1883-1927) "Selected transcripts from the Lloyd Sealy Library's Trial Transcripts of the County of New York (1883-1927) collection. ... Consists of the verbatim typewritten proceedings of 3,326 court cases, held in various courts of New York County, which included Manhattan and the Bronx until 1914. Not all trial transcripts have been digitized."
• Environmental Law Research Guide from Georgetown Law A great place to start research on Federal and New York environmental law.
• Federal Legislative History Research Guide from CUNY School of Law Follow the steps in this guide to find the legislative history of enacted federal statutes.
• The International Center for Not-for-Profit Law "ICNL provides up-to-date, freely accessible information about issues shaping the legal environment for civil society, philanthropy, and public participation. ... [They] maintain a large and diverse collection of resources ... [and] curate collections of the best resources available on issues affecting civic space worldwide. We publish reports and data on topics relevant to civil society."

• Law and Legal Resources at NYPL An overview of the NYPL's electronic and print, current and historical law and legal holdings with links to resources.
• Law Resources from the Center for Research Libraries Access includes LLMCdigital, a database of primary legal and government-related documents, as well as print and microform collections, secondary legal sources, and dissertations.
• Legal Research for Historians: United States: Primary Sources: Cases, Trials, and Case Law This extremely helpful research guide from the Princeton University Library will help you find cases, trials, case law, statutes, and treatises.
• Public Access Law Librariies A list of law libraries in New York State that are open to the public.
• Trials - Famous Trials "The Web's most visited and most comprehensive collection of essays, images, maps, primary documents, links, and other materials pertaining to sixty-six of the most famous trials of all time, from Socrates to Simpson."
• U.S. Supreme Court Find opinions, argument transcripts, case documents, historical information, the Court's calendar, and more on the Court's official site.

Our Grants and Funding research guide details many sources for funding scholarly research. Check this guide for resources at the Graduate Center, within CUNY, and elsewhere. LP2 scholars have on-site access to Graduate Center resources including:

• Foundation Directory Online, FDO Information about 20,000 large and mid-sized U.S. foundations and files for more than half-a-million grants.
• GrantForward CUNY provides access to this database through the Research Foundation.
• Pivot Grants, internships, and graduate and post-graduate fellowships in all subject areas. Search by keyword; set alerts for relevant opportunities.
• Research Centers Directory Contents of the 2010 edition. Each entry includes address, phone number, e-mail address, URL, description, size of staff, publications, scholarships, awards, etc.

The guide also contains information on sources of grant information outside of CUNY, such as:

• Candid Anyone who lives, works or studies in the five boroughs of New York City is eligible to visit the Candid Library to learn about grantmakers, their grants, and all aspects of fundraising, philanthropy, and nonprofit management. The foundation also offers in-person and web-based seminars.
• FOLIO (Foundation LIterature Online) An online digital repository of foundation-sponsored research reports and publications covering the full scope of philanthropic activity.
• Online Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Database of all federal programs available to state and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and non-profit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. ~22,000 described.

Additionally, watch our Events for workshops on grants and funding.