All Graduate Center Databases
The databases you see on this page are just a small subset of all of the databases (collections of resources) available to you through the Graduate Center Library. See the full A-Z list to see all databases from every discipline.
Looking for a specific Journal?
Search by journal title to check availability through our subscriptions and databases according to date.
Place an Interlibrary Loan request if you need access beyond what is immediately available.
MALS research by Track
Doing research while at MALS is an experience that will largely be shaped by your concentration.
Some disciplines have full research guides, that you might want to browse in addition to this one:
- Africana Studies
- American Studies
- Film and Media Cultures
- Psychology (as it might relate to Psychology of Work and Family)
- Urban Education
- Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (see: Women's Studies and LGBT Studies)
Other concentrations do not have their own complete guide (yet), but if you have suggestions about what resources have been helpful to you in those areas, please let your librarian know!
Newspapers Guide
See our full guide to online Newspapers
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
A sampling of databases that might broadly be useful for MALS research.
Click here for the complete list of Graduate Center databases, or take a look at our list of subject guides to find more databases by discipline.
Just getting started? Want some background material? Check out the Beyond Wikipedia guide.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, the database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, such as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. While full text is available as far back as 1887 for a few titles, the text of most titles is available only for the past decade or two. - Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The API indexes over 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines from 1991 to the present. International and interdisciplinary in scope, the API spans the social sciences and humanities with a focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, LGBTQ issues, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews. - Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to essays in collections of mostly scholarly works and miscellaneous works published since 1985 in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. Approximately 340 volumes are indexed annually. While abstracts of essays are not included, users can follow links to the volumes containing the essays to see complete contents and additional information. An extremely useful resource for all disciplines because it indexes sources not covered elsewhere. Search simultaneously with Essay and General Literature Retrospective by selecting both resources from the “choose databases” link. - Essay and General Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 270,000 essays from anthologies and collections covering a wide range of humanities and social sciences disciplines published in English in the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain between 1900 and 1984. Search simultaneously with Essay and General Literature Index by selecting both resources from the “choose databases” link. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Indexes more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages from 1955 to the present. Includes links to full text, where available. - Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1,500 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Includes millions of records covering archaeology, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, classical studies, area studies and gender studies. Should be included in any humanities search. - Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 300 entries on critics, theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods from Plato and Aristotle to the present. Updated annually. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library containing journals, books, images, and primary sources. The GC’s subscription includes JSTOR’s Arts and Sciences I-XII collections of scholarly journals across the social sciences and humanities. Coverage begins with the first issue of almost every journal and continues through varying periods within the last five years. Also included are more than 700 freely accessible collections of illustrations, letters, literary documents, newspapers, magazines, photographs, postcards, and yearbooks; open access alternative press publications from the latter half of the 20th century; and thousands of research reports. 3+ million images in Artstor are also now discoverable in JSTOR. Browse content by subject, title, or collection, or search across the full resource. Register for a free personal account to save materials and organize your work. - LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text from over 150 LGBTQi (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning and Intersex) journals, magazines, and newspapers and over 150 books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The CUNY and Graduate Center subscriptions provide access to the full text of nearly 400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences along with over 70,000 e-books and 4,600 open access books. Select “Browse All Muse” and filter by Access type “Only content I have access to” to see subscribed and OA content. Or look for the green check mark and OA icons that appear next to accessible titles when searching across the platform. E-books are also available via the separate link to Project Muse E-Books. - Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to English-language social science journals, including full text from 215 titles beginning in 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 titles beginning in 1983, 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and more. - Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1983 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of important journals in the social sciences. Subject coverage Includes addiction studies, anthropology, area studies, communications and mass media, community health and medical care, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, sociology and urban studies. - Social Theory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith, and Talcott Parsons. Search across the resource or browse authors, titles, theories, or subjects. - SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of study. The database features 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains abstracts for more than 4,650 journals, some dating to 1895 and extensive indexing for books/monographs and conference papers. Contains full text for more than 830 books and monographs, 16,800 conference papers, and 860 journals dating back to 1908. Searchable cited references and thousands of author profiles are also included. - Very Short Introductions via NYPL This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Please log in using your New York Public Library credentials!
The full text of the entire catalog of Oxford University Press's Very Short Introductions series. The books in this platform offer concise overviews to a range of academic subjects in the arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Select New York City History Resources
- New York Historical Society Museum & LibraryThe New York Historical Society Library has a wealth of materials available on-site and online. Get started with your research using this guide.
- NYPL Guide: Researching New York City NeighborhoodsNew York City neighborhoods, from their formation to present day, can be researched through the collections of NYPL and other institutions. Useful materials include neighborhood and borough-specific histories, NYC guidebooks, city agency reports, local newspapers, clippings, statistical data, and maps, among many other resources.
- NYPL Guide: Early New YorkThis resource packet is aimed to help teachers use primary source images from NYPL's Digital Gallery as well as texts from NYPL's Databases to teach about Early New York.
- NYPL Guide: How to Find Historic Photos of New York CityA guide to locating historic images of New York City.
- The Queens Museum and Museum of the City of New York 1939-1940 and 1964-1965 New York World’s Fairs CollectionThe collections include books, pamphlets, printed ephemera, architectural drawings, original artwork, film and audio recordings, photographs, architectural models, textiles, and souvenirs. The varied formats and subjects of the materials provide a uniquely holistic perspective on the New York World’s Fairs and the events surrounding them that shaped the physical and cultural landscape of the city, even as their impact was felt around the globe.