Dissertations & Theses

Guidelines

notepad

The library reviews all submissions for adherence to the formatting guidelines listed on this page. Please pay special attention to the required Page Sequence and pagination requirements.

If you are having issues with using Microsoft Word, several helpful guides are available in the University of Michigan's instructional pages.

Sample Pages

Variable Pagination

The preliminary pages of the text must be numbered in lower case roman numerals. The body of the text is numbered with Arabic numerals. 

ProQuest Guidelines

LaTeX Templates

Page Sequence

Adhere to the following page sequence when preparing your manuscript. Note that bibliographic references should be the last section of the document, appearing after all appendices, glossaries, illustrations, or other back matter.

Title page (no pagination appears)*
Copyright page (see sample pages; copyright registration through ProQuest is optional)
Approval page (uploaded without signatures; deliver signed original, in hardcopy, to the library)
Abstract
Preface, Foreword, and/or Acknowledgments (optional)
Table of Contents (required)
Lists of tables, illustrations, charts, figures, diagrams (required)
Body of Text (begins with Arabic numeral 1)
Appendix (optional)
Bibliography
Autobiographical Statement (optional)

* All February graduates should list the year 2020 on the title page to match the degree date, regardless of when the manuscript was completed.

Additional pages may be required for students submitting digital projects as part of their thesis or dissertation deposit:

Text Format Guidelines

Abstracts: There is no word limit for abstracts associated with dissertations or theses. Abstracts will be published in the CUNY Academic Works repository and ProQuest (if applicable) with author, title, and descriptive information, even if the work is embargoed.

Approval Page: The approval page requires two signatures; one from the Chair of the Examining Committee (doctoral students) or Advisor (master's students) and the other from the department's Executive Officer. This page also lists typed names of faculty members who supervised the writing of the dissertation or capstone project (doctoral students only, see sample pages). The signed original approval page must be delivered, in hardcopy, to the library as part of the deposit. The version included in uploaded files should not include signatures (for security reasons).

Color: PDF and print reproductions may include color, and ProQuest reproductions will include any color submitted.

File Formats: Adobe PDF (not Word) required for text, no encryption. Rather than embedding audio and video files in the PDF body of a work, submit as supplemental files. For a list of manageable supplemental file fomats, see ProQuest's Preparing Your Manuscript for Submission (Including Supplemental Files).

Font: For PhD dissertations, use a TruType font, not a scalable font. All fonts must be embedded, post script type 1. Any legible TruType type 1 font is accepted (except script, italic, or ornamental fonts) if equivalent in scale to Arial (10 pt) or Times New Roman (12 pt). Italicized font may be used for non-English words and quotations. Acceptable fonts and sizes for print and web include: Arial (10 pt), Courier New (10 pt), Georgia (11 pt), Times New Roman (12 pt), Trebuchet MS (10 pt), Verdana (10 pt). See ProQuest's Preparing Your Manuscript for Submission (Including Supplemental Files) for recommendations about choosing and embedding fonts, selecting fomats, and creating PDFs.

Line-spacing: Double-space abstract, dedication, acknowledgements, table of contents, and body of the manuscript. Follow your departmental style manual for single- or double-spacing block quotes, captions, items in tables, lists, graphs, charts. Single-space footnotes/endnotes, bibliography entries, lists in appendices.

Lists of Contents: A table of contents is required. If illustrations, charts, diagrams, figures or other tables appear in the work, a list of each named element, with corresponding pagination, is required. Formatting and sample pages in Chicago/Turabian style are available online. 

Margins: left: 1”; right: 1″; top and bottom: 1″ for all text (except page numbers) and figures, headers/footers, footnotes/endnotes, and images

Page numbers: must appear at least ¾” from any edge of page

Pagination: Pages preliminary to the body of the text must be numbered with lowercase Roman numerals. Do not number the title page but count it in the preliminary pagination. The body of the text is numbered with Arabic numerals beginning with the first page of text and including illustrations, appendix, and bibliography. Except for the title page, all pages must be numbered. The numerals may appear in any location on the page (bottom middle, bottom right, upper right), but must be consistent throughout the work. See Variable Pagination for formatting in Microsoft Word.

Page Sequence

Title page (no pagination appears)
Copyright page (see sample pages; copyright registration through ProQuest is optional) 
Approval page (uploaded without signatures; deliver signed original, in hardcopy, to the library)
Abstract
Preface, Foreword, and/or Acknowledgments
Table of Contents (required)
Lists of tables, illustrations, charts, figures, diagrams (required)
Body of Text (begins with Arabic numeral 1)
Appendix
Bibliography
Autobiographical Statement (optional)

Quotations: Consult copyright fair use guidelines. Include permission letters for use of copyrighted materials (photographs, charts, tables, etc.). Seek permission for quotations or excerpts constituting a significant portion of a work not in the public domain. Consult your sources, obtain, and submit copyright permission letters as supplemental files as part of your online submission. Subsequent to deposit, submit copyright permission statements to ProQuest via email. If permission letters are not supplied, work may not be published by ProQuest.

Style and Style Manuals: Use the style manual for your discipline except when in conflict with these instructions. Consult dissertation advisors as necessary. Doctorate of Public Health uses ICMJE.

Title Page: The title page must include the full dissertation title, the complete name of the author matching the Registrar's record of depositor's name (any official name changes must be made by providing legal documentation to the Registrar), the dissertation statement, and the year of the degree [Sample Title Page]. Use words to spell out titles including formulas, symbols, superscripts, subscripts, and Greek letters. While prohibited from the title, symbols may be used throughout the text.