Research Guides: Beyond Wikipedia: Background & Reference Sources: Dictionaries

Find Language Dictionaries in the Library Catalog

To find electronic or print dictionaries inn OneSearch, WorldCat Discovery, or other catalogs, try a Subject search formatted like this:

English language -- Dictionaries

Italian language -- Dictionaries -- English

[Any] language -- Dictionaries -- English

Oxford Dictionaries
Formerly Oxford Language Dictionaries Online. Translations of thousands of Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish words and phrases.

Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek
The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. It brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond. Translated and edited under the auspices of The Center for Hellenic Studies in Washington, DC, The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is based on the completely revised 3rd Italian edition published in 2013 by Loescher Editore, Torino.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world." Read more about the OED.

A handy and authoritative online dictionary and thesaurus.

Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus (DOE) is a fully searchable database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. The DOE represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin. It defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language and complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period C.E. 1100-1500) and the Oxford English Dictionary. The three together provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.

Compiled as part of the Dictionary of Old English project at the University of Toronto, the texts in the Corpus are XML-encoded and are fully conformant with the Text Encoding Initiative Guidelines (TEI-P5 2007).
Dictionary of Old English: A–Le
The Dictionary of Old English: A–Le includes the publication of La-Le, containing 750 new entries, as well as the previously published installments.

The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), and draws on texts from a wide range of dates, dialects and genres.