THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! Our physical space remains inaccessible. Library resources and services are available online.

Research Guides

Access & Borrowing

Faculty and PSC Staff Retirees

Retired Graduate Center faculty (both central-line and campus-based) and PSC staff retain full on-site library privileges including: 

  • on-site access to any CUNY library
  • borrowing privileges from any CUNY library except the Law School
  • off-site access to GC Library e-resources
  • GC interlibrary loan

ID Cards: GC faculty retirees (both central-line and campus-based) and PSC staff retirees may obtain GC retiree photo ID cards good for perpetual onsite access to CUNY libraries. When visiting the GC library, anyone without a GC network account can request a guest login for access to library computers.

GC photo ID cards allow use of CUNY libraries and book borrowing. Photo IDs are authorized by GC Human Resources or by GC Executive Officers in a letter to GC Security & Public Safety. Take your GC retiree photo ID to the GC Library Circulation Desk (1st floor) for a barcode sticker for library admission and for borrowing books. 

GC network accounts allow access to GC Library e-resources from off-campus. GC network credentials are routinely authorized by GC Human Resources during employment on-boarding and retirement planning. Forgotten passwords can be self-reset. Doctoral faculty and retirees without a GC network account can apply for one with an inquiry to Itservices@gc.cuny.edu.

 

Retiree Accounts

Status Account Privileges

Retired Central-Line GC Doctoral Faculty

Email/Network Account: Upon retirement, retirees are given the option to retain the GC account as an email-only account (@gc.cuny.edu address) or request a new retiree email account (@ret.gc.cuny.edu address).

Library Databases: Retired central-line GC faculty can log in to library databases with a full GC email address as userid (e.g., user@gc.cuny.edu or user@ret.gc.cuny.edu) and password.

Interlibrary Loan: Retired central-line GC faculty contact ill@gc.cuny.edu to request a retiree Interlibrary Loan account. Access to pre-existing GC ILL accounts ends at retirement; the GC Library creates new retiree ILL accounts upon request.

Retired Campus-Based GC Doctoral Faculty

Email/Network Account: Retired GC doctoral faculty based at other campuses lose GC network accounts, including GC email privileges, upon retirement. Retired doctoral faculty may request email accounts from home campuses and may maintain access to home campus library resources.

Library Databases and Interlibrary Loan: Retired campus-based GC doctoral faculty may contact the GC Digital Services Librarian (librarysystems@gc.cuny.edu) to request a special retiree account for access to GC library databases and GC Interlibrary Loan. (Access to pre-existing GC ILL accounts ends when other network privileges cease.)

PSC Staff Retirees

Email/Network Account: GC staff retirees represented by the PSC lose their GC network accounts. On the day of retirement, GC staff retirees may request a new retiree email-only account (@ret.gc.cuny.edu address).

Library Databases: Retired PSC staff can log in to GC library databases with a full GC email address (e.g., user@ret.gc.cuny.edu) and password.

​Interlibrary Loan: Retired PSC staff may contact ill@gc.cuny.edu to request a new GC retiree Interlibrary Loan account. Access to pre-existing GC ILL accounts ends when other network privileges cease.)

Non-PSC Staff Retirees

All Accounts: GC staff retirees not represented by the PSC lose GC network accounts, including GC email accounts; staff accounts are disabled on the day of retirement and deleted 90 days thereafter. As a result, non-PSC staff retirees lose access to GC library resources and Interlibrary Loan.

GC Faculty & PSC Staff Retirees - Privileges

On-Site Access Yes
Borrowing Privileges Yes*
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes
Loan Period 8 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books Unlimited
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books 9
Database Access On-site & off-site
Interlibrary Loan Yes
Printing $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges Yes

*Except the CUNY School of Law

Using a Special Retiree Account

Retired CUNY doctoral faculty first inquire with GC IT services for GC network accounts. If not successful, contact the GC Digital Services Librarian for assistance librarysystems@gc.cuny.edu.

How to find and access GC library resources:

  • Get to know the GC Library website, consult the list of databases.
  • To find a specific journal for a specific year, check the journal-finding tool.
  • Use the “Find It!” link from within databases to get articles and book chapters not at the GC. Or use the ILL request form.
  • Use Worldcat to get material outside the GC, with the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" link. Or use the ILL request form.
  • When articles and scans are available, you will be notified by email. Pick up ILL books at the GC Library, articles/book chapters are delivered electronically to your ILL account.

Google Scholar

  •  Use the GC-customized version of Google Scholar available on the library website. The GC-customized version recognizes the library's electronic journal holdings and if you login with your GC library credentials, links you to the articles in the library's databases.

Need help?