Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Access & Borrowing

GC Faculty (Central-Line and Consortial) and Staff

All Graduate Center faculty and staff are eligible for GC library privileges. This includes both central-line and consortial GC faculty, as well as all Advanced Science Research Center (ASRC) faculty and staff. Library access is governed by CUNY Login credentials and a CUNY or GC photo ID card.

CUNY Login:

  • CUNY Login credentials allow off-site access to the GC library's electronic resources (databases, e-journals, and ebooks), as well as access to the GC's interlibrary loan system (ILLiad).
  • Forgot your CUNY Login? Retrieve your username, or reset your password.
  • Know your CUNY Login but can't access GC library e-resources? Some consortial faculty may not yet be able to use their CUNY Login. While the library and HR work to update consortial faculty records, please use your GC network ID for access to e-resources (2nd option on the login page).

CUNY or GC Photo ID Card:

  • CUNY photo ID cards enable physical access to CUNY libraries, as well as circulation privileges.
  • Consortial faculty with a photo ID card from another CUNY campus do not need a separate GC photo ID card for full GC library privileges.
  • GC photo IDs are authorized by GC Human Resources or by GC Executive Officers in a letter to GC Security & Public Safety. Take your GC photo ID to the GC library's circulation desk (1st floor) to receive a barcode sticker, which is necessary for borrowing books and in some cases necessary for admittance to CUNY libraries. 
  • GC photo ID cards also allow access to libraries around the world, through the SHARES program.

GC Faculty (Central-Line and Consortial) and Staff - Library Privileges

On-Site Access Yes
Borrowing Privileges CUNY-wide*
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) Yes
Loan Period 16 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books 2
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books 2
Database Access On-site & off-site
Interlibrary Loan Yes
Printing Free
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges Yes

*Except the CUNY School of Law