THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! Our physical space remains inaccessible. Library resources and services are available online. Read more.

Research Guides

Access & Borrowing

GC Alumni Photo ID & Registration

Get your GC Alumni photo ID, required for entry to the library, from the Office of Security and Public Safety, rm 9123, 212-817-7777. 

Complete the Graduate Center Alumni Registration Form for off-campus access to selected databases. The Alumni Affairs Office gcalumni@gc.cuny.edu will reply (in a couple business days) with a username and password to access Databases for Alumni  (GCALUM) .

Open Access resources () on the the Graduate Center's A-Z Database List are freely available.

Welcome back, GC alums!

Library Services for Graduate Center Alumni

  • Show your GC Alumni photo ID to enter the library.
  • Visit the library's Circulation desk on the first floor to obtain an Alumni barcode to borrow books from the GC's collection. See Library Privileges to the lower right for loan and renewal information.
  • Obtain a guest login at the Circulation or Reference Desk on each visit to use library computers to reach all resources from inside the library.
  • Printing is available for a fee.  Purchase a copy card for $1 and add funds to the card to print for $0.15 per page.
  • Scanners, microfilm readers, and digital reformatting equipment are described in the Technology in the Library guide.
  • From off-campus, log in with your Alumni username and password to access selected Databases for Alumni (see upper right box on this page)

Alumni Dissertations & Theses

See the Dissertations & Theses guide for information on CUNY Academic Works and to find your own capstone, thesis, or dissertation.

Databases for Alumni (Accessible from Anywhere!)

Library Privileges for Graduate Center Alumni (including SLU)

On-Site Access Yes
Borrowing Privileges GC Only
CLICS (Request Books from Other CUNY Libraries) No
Loan Period 3 weeks
Renewal Limit for GC Books 9
Renewal Limit for Other CUNY Books n/a
Database Access

On-site access to most GC databases; off-site access to select databases for alumni

Interlibrary Loan No
Printing $0.15/page
Special NYPL Borrowing Privileges No