Alumni Library Resources

Welcome Back, Graduate Center Alumni!

Welcome back

Even after graduation, access to online resources continue for Graduate Center Alumni!

To get alumni credentials:

  1. First, complete the Alumni Registration Form

  2. The Alumni Affairs Office will send a username and password for you to use with alumni library resources. (Please be warned that this process can take a few days depending on demand)

  3. To log in, click on the title of a database you would like to use below (alumni have access just to the databases that appear on this page)--if more resources are added, they will appear here!

If you aren't sure about your status, or if you forgot your alumni credentials, please contact gcalumni@gc.cuny.edu

Databases for Alumni (Accessible from Anywhere!)

What Changes after Graduation?

On campus

  • You may still borrow books from the Graduate Center Library with your GC alumni ID card
    • This chart contains loan and renewal period information
    • Contact the Office of Security and Public Safety, room 9123 (212-817-7777) to receive your alumni ID
  • Register for off-campus access to alumni databases
  • While visiting the GC Library in person, you can continue to access to the full list of GC databases
  • Unfortunately, alumni lose GC Interlibrary Loan or CUNY-wide request services after graduation.
    • We recommend locating your local public library wherever you live after graduation for details on interlibrary loan services, special collections, and online databases.

Visiting the GC Library

GC alumni may visit the library during regular operating hours for on-campus access to all GC Library resources, including computers, databases, and reference assistance.

Visiting the library

The Graduate Center Library holds subscriptions to more than 275 databases in many subjects. Licensing restrictions exclude alumni from remote access to most of these resources, but Graduate Center alumni have on-campus access to all of these databases and to the GC Library's other electronic resources (including ebook collections).

  • To enter the library use your GC alumni ID, obtainable from the Office of Security and Public Safety, room 9123 (212-817-7777). 
  • Visit the Circulation or Reference Desks for a guest login to use library computers with access to the full range of the library's resources, or use your own computer. See Technology in the Library for full details.
  • To borrow Graduate Center books, take your GC alumni ID to the Circulation Desk and get a library barcode.

More information about interlibrary loan and other library privileges and fines.

Not a GC alum?

Support the Library

Purchase through the Mina Rees Library's “Virtual Bookstore” on Amazon.com

Purchase anything through this link to contribute 5% to the library. It costs you nothing and adds thousands to the library budget.